Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / what to do with IP in multiplayer?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2004 21:42
hi, ive made a simple text chat program and i have gotten it to work on my local machine.

However i have not been able to get it to work across the internet.

I have only had a chance to test it against one machine.

Im new to DBP and have never played a game multiplayer using IP addresses other then on a local network.

on my local network i have never had to specify a IP to find a game.

And that is my problem i could really use some help with what exactly i should put in as my IP.

Do i use the IP that i can find by going to various websites? or do i need to find out what my ip is before it goes through my router or ISP?

thank you.

ps...pretty sad when you have to get help on how to use your own program...

Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2004 22:55
Search about the forums, this topic has been brought up several times recently with some interesting solutions and advice.
--
TAZ

CKy
Years of Service
User Offline
hey white mink, i was curious, could u show me the code u used for your program? im interested to see how to code network stuff with dbp. I am used to winsock programming with vb6, but not DBP... and maybe im not looking hard enough... but i cant see much control.
ie:
setting a port
choosing LAN,TCP/IP
connecting to a specific IP

lol i will look it up, but i just need a little bit of an example
The Lone Programmer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Feb 2004 01:19