Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Breakout - bouncing the ball of the bricks in right dirrection

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all.

Im new to DBP and im trying to make a breakout clone. I move the ball with a speed and a angle. When it hits the sides of the screen i get the new angle with 360 - angle, and if it hist the top/pad i use 180-angle. That works fine.

But when i hit the bricks it can hit on the bottom or on the sides (or top) of the brick. It then have to bounce back in the right dirrection. How do i se on wich side of the brick the ball hits ?
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Feb 2004 12:11
You could compare the ball position with the brick position to determine if it's far enough to the left or right to assume it has hit the side.

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)
http://facepaint.me.uk/catalog/default.php
Kirneh
Years of Service
User Offline
I have been thinking about the same myself.
When i have a collision i could check:
-if the top of the ball is below or equal to the bottom of the brick it hits the bottom of the brick.
-if the right side of the ball is equal or lower than the bricks left side it hit the left side of the brick.
Gotta make 4 checks this way.

Im gonna think a bit more to see if I can make this so 1 check is for top/bottom and 1 is for right/left, since the action for top/left is the same and right/left is the same.
KNau
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Feb 2004 17:55
I'm working on a pong styled game right now and the way I've been doing it is something like this:

1) Store the ball's current position in "oldballx". "oldbally" variables.

2) Update the ball position (based on speed and angle).