Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2004 07:19
Greetings all! I'm new to DB, but not to programming or 3D modeling.

The question I have should be simple for some of the veterans here:
Is there a way to do simple lines in 3D? ie: line X,Y,Z,X,Y,Z ?
I have seen the 2D line command, but not a 3D counterpart.
Philip
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2004 07:29
In 3d you need to use an object. One way to achieve what you wish to achieve is to calculate the length of the vector. You could then take a box shaped object of 1 unit length, scale it along the dimension so its as long as the vector, then position it at the X, Y, Z coordinates of one end point and "point" it at the other X, Y, Z coordinates.

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P1.3ghz / 384 megs / GeForce MX 5200 128meg / WinXP home
Gaping wound
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2004 07:33
I was afraid you were going to say that. Seems like a lot of overhead to display simple lines.
Philip
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2004 07:57
Not really. It only takes about 3 or 4 lines of code. If you were doing this just using C++ it'd take you 40 or 50 lines of code.

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P1.3ghz / 384 megs / GeForce MX 5200 128meg / WinXP home
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2004 09:39
Quote: "Seems like a lot of overhead to display simple lines"