Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Two wargame hex map questions...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Mar 2004 11:29
Hello folks,

Total newbie here to DBC, though I've had some exposure to programming (mostly object oriented) and game development via my occupation.

The game I'd like to create is essensially a 2d hexgrid style war game and I think I've got a solid design; most of the problems I'm running against are when designing the architecture of the systems. Among the problems I've been thinking about are how to create the hexs and assign particular properties to the hex.

Initially I figured I'd just display the background with a hex-grid overlay. Then I decided to add a few more tactical choices by making the geography more complex. For example adding "high ground" and other terrain bonuses which allows a deeper variety of units as each unit could then have special abilities based on terrain.

For example: Hex Type = Forest 2, height = 3 would be a dense very high mountain forest area (obscuring the unit and providing bonuses when attacking down to lower elevation ajacent hexes that are charging, etc.).

So the first question is:
How the heck do I create a hex map? Is there where I need a tile editor? I'm not terrible original or learned when it comes to math but I can apply and modify examples if necessary.

The second question is more design related. Is it your opinion that it would be easier or "better" to create a suite of Hexs covering all the elevations and geographic features then use those as my "tiles" or is there away to make the Hex overlay take into account what is in the background image and change values as a result?