Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / How Long Before DBP = C++

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Mar 2004 22:59
Hey all,
I was thinking the other day about this update thats coming along and it got me wondering. I'm 14 so I've still got loads of time left(I think) to learn C++ if I wanted a career in progrmming. If of course theres any jobs in the games industry left in England in 10 years time(I'm sure you know what I mean.) Now if I walked into a job interview for say EA and showed them I was a red hot C++ coder they'd probably be impressed but if I showed them that I'd manage to program a whole MMORPG myself in DBP they wouldn't be to bothered. Or would they, with DBP getting more and more powerful and games looking better and better (take firewall for example.) Is it really that hard to imagine a time when games written in DarkBASIC could be sold to the public. Ones that with the proper team of coders, modellers, musicians etc could give todays big names a run for their money. So I come to the title of this post How Long Before DBP = C++. Thanks

code monkey 0gamemad0

HEY, YOU THERE, THE ONE READING THIS, WHY NOT VISIT OUR TEAM SITE.
Rob K
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Mar 2004 23:24 Edited at: 29th Mar 2004 23:25
The C++ language is far superior to DBPro's BASIC (With the exception of dynamic arrays), but then that is why BASIC is called BASIC - its easy for everyone to pick up. However, if you use IanM's integration library to basically write the game in C++, but using DBPro's 3D engine, then yes.

BlueGUI:Windows UI Plugin - All the power of the windows interface in your DBPro games. - Plus URL download, win dialogs.
Over 140 new commands
IanM