Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / First game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Im new to dark basic, and am wondering what do you consider the easiest game to make, i would have thought maybe asteriods???
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Apr 2004 01:43
pong would be easier than asteroids IMHO

Home of the VB.NET Class Builder Utility - Demo and FULL versions now available!!
Twisted Demon
Years of Service
User Offline
but doesnt pong involve physics and AI, makin it hard??
Scouseknight
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Apr 2004 02:59
I would tend to agree that Pong would be easier than Asteroids - think about the asteroids breaking apart, the hyperspace, the shooting, and the space ships that appear all requiring physics and AI - you can get away with a basic Pong game with no physics at all - and if you make it two player only (which is how Pong should be played) then there is no AI at all to consider.

Go on - you know it makes sense - go for a Pong game first

If you do want a single player Pong game then the AI can be simply determing where the bat has to move to intercept the ball and making it move that way.

CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Apr 2004 03:25
there is a 3d pong tutorial in an older thread somewhere - search the threads for PONG

Home of the VB.NET Class Builder Utility - Demo and FULL versions now available!!
the_winch
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Apr 2004 03:40
Chris Knotts pong tut http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=22030&b=7 that CattleRustler mentions. Worth spening a couple of minutes reading even if you do go for asteroids.

you ain't the cops
Sparda