Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newbie here!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Apr 2004 16:27
I need help in knowing what kinda a game I should shoot for being a newbie, ive read a little over half the monster hunt tutorial. should I try a pac-man clone?

Make games play games, hey its a living!
Scouseknight
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Apr 2004 16:32
Try something like Pong - seems to be a popular "first game" for most people.

dragon tail
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Apr 2004 16:45
before that, you could try: http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?f=t02/bm_tutorial_index
The binary moon tutorials are very good, and you learn some pretty cool stuff...

--------------------| Current Rig |--------------------
P4 2.4GHz | 512MB DDR333 RAM | 80GB BarracudaIV | Geforce4 Ti4600 128MB | XP pro SP1 and 98SE dual boot
Saikoro
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2004 03:15
A good way to get started, after learning most of the commands via the manual and help files, is to make a retro game which is not too in depth yet still utilizes what you have learned. About every month or so make another small game using what you have learned, and before you know it you will be a fairly good user at Dark Basic! Also, remember that the first few games are more of a learning experience rather than something you would want to go commercial. When you finish, post it for free and get feedback, take any comments and see if you can get rid of your flaws and strengthen your strengths. Good luck!

-Vash the Stampede

"This world is LOVE and PEACE!" -Vash the Stampede

Battosaibry
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2004 05:22