Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Function parameter error?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2004 01:28
I'm pretty new to DBPro (but not to programming) and was a little surprised to see this error message when I was debugging.

#100008: Parameter for 'GetAngle' do not match 'float' at line 2

It seems to be complaining about this: -

function GetAngle(X1#,Z1#,X2#,Z2#)
angle# = atanfull((X2# - X1#),(Z2# - Z1#))
endfunction angle#

which I am accessing through this: -

angle# = GetAngle(tTarget.X#, tTarget.Z#, tPlayer.X#, tPlayer.Z#)

tPlayer being a Type of this: -

type Entity
float X#
float Y#
float Z#
integer LegsObjNum
integer TorsoObjNum
float LegsAngle#
float DirectionAngle#
float TorsoAngle#
endtype

At first I thought the IDE was just being pissy, but I get the same error in Twilight too. I don't get it if I comment out the GetAngle function and the stuff that references it.
Little help? Be cruel if you have to - I'm new and stupid at this langauge (and 3D programming in general)
I can post the entire code if need be. I've got the latest IDE patch and the latest Update, if that helps at all.

Thanks.

www.tronsoftware.co.uk
AMD Athlon XP 1700+, 180GB HDD, 512MB DDR RAM, ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB DDR, Windows XP Pro, DirectX 9.0b
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2004 01:43 Edited at: 8th May 2004 01:44
you using angle# twice, is it Global?
try changing one of the two var names, like the one in the fucntion, call it test# or something just to see

* DBP_NETLIB_v1 - VB.NET PLUGIN FOR DBP * Click Logo
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2004 01:45