Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / wat am i doin wrong?

Author
Message
Bryn_boy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2004 18:46
i hate to sound like a broken record but...i've previously posted about how to stop an animaton once triggered by reaching a waypoint in my DBP game(cheers by the way to IanM 4 answering and to darkGuy 4 his waypoint code). ne way im still havin real problems stopping the anim once it's triggered, it just loops! if i step out of my waypoint zone it then stops.im a novice at coding so i dont know if im missin ne thin obvious. has ne one dont this b4 who can tell me how to do it coz im stumped!

cheers.

my most recent attempt is attached
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 9th May 2004 18:59
It may be the way you're nesting the if-endif code. Try unnesting them and see if that helps


* DBP_NETLIB_v1 - VB.NET PLUGIN FOR DBP * Click Logo
Bryn_boy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2004 20:12
it still doesn't seem to work. it just keeps looping yet if i step outside my waypoint it plays and stops. i cant work out how to fix this. i'm desperate!(my thanx to CattleRustler 4 the reply)
Plz help.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 10th May 2004 20:16
try usin a flag variable then, a boolean to trap that the sound has played once and should not continue to play. then when the player leaves the hot zone reset the values

(sorry for short answers - I am working on a ton of stuff here )


* DBP_NETLIB_v1 - VB.NET PLUGIN FOR DBP * Click Logo
Bryn_boy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2004 20:47
sorry but don't know wat a flag is? i'v looked it up in da program's help and 'beginners guide to db'. im not very versed in coding yet.
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 10th May 2004 21:24
The code I posted previously did exactly what you needed it to.

I've added a few comments to the code so that you can see the reasoning.



Oh, and a flag is just a variable that usually holds an on/off type value

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins, source and the Interface library for Visual C++ 6, .NET and now for Dev-C++ http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Bryn_boy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2004 22:22 Edited at: 10th May 2004 22:23
sorry but it doesnt work. thanx tho. it displays but doesnt play. if i add....

` If within the required distance
if disX# =<200 and disZ# =<200 and animation playing(1) = 0

it plays when in the area but loops!
is it possible i dont have the latest update or sumthing coz this should be workin!
appreciate the help tho.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-22 08:34:38
Your offset time is: 2024-09-22 08:34:38