Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need help with this cool warp speed code

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Created a cool warpspeed - starfield with picture on the forground but cannot get text printed on the screen if you know how please help i am a dark basic pro beginner dont know much but learning
I have also paste the source code you need two pictures a small picture for the stars and a picture with black background for a cool transparent effect if you can enhance this code please do so
RAVAN
Lampton Worm
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st May 2004 12:39
Hi,

You may want to try putting your text commands after your sprite command, it may be down to the draw order (i.e. you display your text, then the sprite is drawn over the top of it), but I've also had issue displying text over sprites before. Also, you could try putting a sync just before your wait key (not sure if text/sprite forces a sync, not at my DBP machine now so I can't test it).

If you have still have problems do a search on the forum for text sprites, or sprite fonts, basically instead of using DBP's text command you construct the text from a sprite font set, which means you can have some cool text, and it'll display on top of other sprites (if the sprite priority is right).

p.s. GnR - good stuff!

Hope it helps,
Cheers.
Red And Blue Eyes
Years of Service
User Offline