Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New to Games Programming - Help with 3D concepts

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have been programming applications for many years but want to play in making games. It's got to be more fun than my day job.
DB seems ideal for this but I am having a bit of trouble getting my head around the 3D concepts.
I am trying to simply get a ball to bounce around inside a cube, where when it hit's a wall of the cube it bounces off at the relevant angle. I don't want any gravity involved so I feel it should be simple.
I started off having 5 objects for the top, bottom, sides and end of this box with the camara positioned at the other end, and on clicking the mouse, launch a sphere off in the direction the camara is facing, for it to bounce of the top/bottom/sides and stop at the end.
The stopping at the end and coliding with the top/bottom/sides is not problem, but I can't figure out how to make it appear to 'bounce off' the walls it hits.
I have tried lot's of things and just got confused.
Any ideas/examples greatly received.

Additionally, are there any good books I can buy for Dark Basic??
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Dec 2002 12:42
Well unfortunatly in our infinate wisedom, non of us have written any yet ... some here should write some sorta concepts book thou - perhaps some of the better coders like Shiven, Uwdesign, GuyS

make an interesting read hehee

what i'd do if i were you is look into a more general terms, of 3D Math - suchas Trig and the use of Vectors within programming.