Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / error problem on the monsterhunt3d tutorial

Author
Message
Bretticvs
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:10
Hi Everybody

First post

Im working my way through the said tutorial and I am getting a runtime error on the Intoduction to Matrix commands



At this point I get a runtime error of Matrix tile does not exist

I bet im doing something really noobish. But any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Brett

C programmers dont die they just slip into the Void()
Mentor
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:19 Edited at: 28th May 2004 00:27
do you have a "create matrix 1,100,100,20,20" or something like that in your code somewhere near the start?, you have to create one before you texture it, and it has to be the right size in tiles or you will get that error, you also need to create a matrix texture, then make sure you don`t use more texture tiles than you made when you made the texture etc, computers are realy dumb...just cos you mentioned a matrix doesn`t mean the `puter will think to make one, you have to specificaly tell it to make one first, I think maybe you should read some more of the tutorial, you may have missed something (never seen it myself..so just guessing here), basic rules tho

make a matrix
make a texture of x tiles
make sure the x,y and tile numbers are within bounds
apply textures to the different tiles on the matrix
update the matrix so you can see the changes you have made to it

and it should work just fine.

Mentor.

PC1: P4 hyperthreading 3ghz, 1gig mem, 2x160gig hd`s, Nvidia FX5900 gfx, 6 way surround sound, PC2: AMD 1.2ghz, 512mb ram, FX5200 ultra gfx, stereo 16 bit soundblaster, ups.
Bretticvs
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:26
Yeah ive created it the whole of my code is :



Ive gone through it with a fine tooth comb, maybe it doesnt like the bmp im trying to load cos im using the demo version atm and picked up a .bmp thats called floor1 that i found in the help files and dropped into the current working directory. It could be the wrong size compared to the grass.bmp i should be using i suppose.

C programmers dont die they just slip into the Void()
Mentor
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:30 Edited at: 28th May 2004 00:31
there is only one tile, so you can`t use

set matrix tile 1,x,z,2<<<you asked for tile 2

since

prepare matrix texture 1,1,1,1

make just 1 texture tile (1x1)

so alter the command to read

set matrix tile 1,x,z,1

and all should be well, cheers.

Mentor.

PC1: P4 hyperthreading 3ghz, 1gig mem, 2x160gig hd`s, Nvidia FX5900 gfx, 6 way surround sound, PC2: AMD 1.2ghz, 512mb ram, FX5200 ultra gfx, stereo 16 bit soundblaster, ups.
Bretticvs
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:38
Opps again I refer to my previous statement

Im a nOOb


the line should read

prepare matrix texture 1,1,2,2 <<<I changed this messing around, this takes a tile and splits it into 4 quadrants.

the other line should read

Set Matrix Tile 1,x,z,t

but I did try what you suggested and still getting the error

C programmers dont die they just slip into the Void()
Bretticvs
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 00:58


LOL im such a nOOb.
I solved the problem. I saved a newversion of the tutorial in a different directory. So it couldnt find the tile.

Thanks for the help

C programmers dont die they just slip into the Void()

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-22 10:35:58
Your offset time is: 2024-09-22 10:35:58