Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / DarkBASIC Professional From the Ground Up - *NEW RELEASE*

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th May 2004 22:40 Edited at: 29th May 2004 22:41
The book is almost complete, now we just need some more input on the following things:

1. What is good about the book
2. What could be added to the book
3. Do you think this would be a good resource for complete beginners?

You can access the book here:

Give All The Credit Away
KC27
Years of Service
User Offline
*bump*

Give All The Credit Away
Diablo Roker
Years of Service
User Offline
lets see...good content...i wish that the codes where blue*wink*wink* and i think its good
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th May 2004 02:47
I've taken a quick look at it. I've noted the following things that you might want to look at.

Chapter 1.
The alternate way of declaring variables.
a as integer
b as float
c as string

Chapter 3.
Abs will leave a positive number alone.
Rnd - max of 32767

Chapter 8.
Naming - use long descriptive names where relevant.
Try and avoid if...then...else. Use the multiline form instead - clearer

Chapter 10.
Example error - y2=y1(100/2)

Chapter 11.
Transparency option on PASTE IMAGE
Texture type on GET IMAGE

Chapter 12.
Sprites automatically have transparency when created

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins, source and the Interface library for Visual C++ 6, .NET and now for Dev-C++ http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
the_winch
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th May 2004 03:02 Edited at: 30th May 2004 03:03