Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / This is probly really stupid but...

Author
Message
Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 15th Dec 2002 23:14
can somone give mea code that makes a plain constaintly face the camera? thx
Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 15th Dec 2002 23:40
you need the Point Object command, this example should show you



"Earth is the cradle of humanity,
but one cannot live in a cradle forever"
Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky (1911)
simonuk74
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 03:42
isnt there a command to fix the plain`s position, in reference to the camera`s position, so that the plain will alway be in the same place on the creen, wherever the camera may be positioned or rotated ?

ah yes, I just looked it up in the DB help, :
LOCK OBJECT ON will lock the object to the screen, but if I remember correctly, you have to position the object and camera before you lock the object.

I hope that has helped

simon

Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 04:29
Neither of the codes really worked but I think I might know what might

The X tiltes the object up and down
The Y spins the object left and right
The Z tilts the object left and right

I I set the X to face the camera y (withich it it's height position) and set Y to X and Y, it should face the camera. The problem is how do I set set Y to face X and y at the same time?
Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 04:30
X and Z imean
simonuk74
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 07:25
I just been to bed, and now I gotta go to work , but when I get home, I`ll write you a snippet ( unless somebody else has by then ), on how to use LOCK OBJECT commands, I have used then a few times before in my games for use as `Heasds-Up Disaplys`

simon

Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 14:51
what I mean is I do't want to use lock position I want to have an object out in the middle of the area that always faces, not being locked onto the camera, like a tree or something.
actarus
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 16:22
-what I mean is I do't want to use lock position I want to have an object out in the middle of the area that always faces, not being locked onto the camera, like a tree or something

Actually,a tree isn't locked...the best example for locked objects are menus or sometimes the weapons in an FPS.

Use "point object" and "Set object to camera orientation" commands.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 17th Dec 2002 01:03
Thx, all I figured it out, I needed to do:

point object 1, cam pos X, cam pos Y -22, cam pos Z

because my Y was tilted, Thx

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-01 04:59:15
Your offset time is: 2024-03-01 04:59:15