Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / DBP Error

Author
Message
Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 07:00
I do not know if this is a bug or not, but I get an error:

Failed to create 'CreateASMFooter::FindLabel'

Any idea what this might mean. I posted my source, just in case



There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 07:22
if Value < 0.0 then inc Value, 360.0

I don't believe you can inc Value, 360.0

plus Value should be of type float not innt

Value#= wrapvalue(Value#)
if Value# <0.0 then Value#=Value# +360.0


Anyway I thought that's what wrapvalue(variable) did to begin with.

Lastly, what is that whole thing with the
grid(0,0)=1:grid(1,0)=1...etc
You should initialize in a loop, kind of the way that you check to see if the value in the grid(x,y_ is equal to 1.

Plus if you needed to initalize it would have been easier to read from a data statement or from a file and have the read in a loop.
like so
restore blockdata:
for x = 0 to 15
for y=0 to 7
grid(x,y)= read blockdat
next y
next x

blockdata:
`x from 0 to 15 = 16 values
`y from 0 to 7 = 8 values
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1



the_winch
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 07:26
Shouldn't this be in the Dbpro or newcommers section?

You are getting that error because you use RESTORE and READ with no DATA.

can i scream
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 07:48 Edited at: 6th Jul 2004 10:46
[edited] & removed. Hoss answered my question.


Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 08:06
zenassem

Your code doesnt work.

There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 08:10
And no, thats not in the book. I am just not good at positioning stuff based on data statements.

Here is my new code, still doesnt work:



There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 08:56
DBC or DBpro?

Hmmm try this. I think i put the extra ":" in the restore command. That's what I get for cutting an pating. Also, I had problems of having the read command after the = sign (I think in DBC at one time) so I broke it into a seperate line just in case that was th problem. It should work now.

restore blockdata
for x = 0 to 15
for y=0 to 7
read blockdat
grid(x,y) = blockdat
next y
next x

blockdata:
`x from 0 to 15 = 16 values
`y from 0 to 7 = 8 values
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
data 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1


Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 09:34
Well. it compiles fine, but the only image that now shows up is my paddle:



There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 10:34 Edited at: 6th Jul 2004 13:23
You need to draw all the blocks for the sprites you created for the blocks each loop. In the main loop you clear the screen each iteration (which is good), but you need to add the section that draws all the blocks inside the loop.

If you need help with this, I will try to either walk you through it, giving you a chance to figure it out, or I can just write the display blocks section; And you can modify it to suit your liking. Let me know which would be the best way to help you.

~zen


Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 21:13 Edited at: 6th Jul 2004 21:14
[EDIT] I tried, but they still wont show up.........can you write the function....I cant figure out why they wont show up.

There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 00:11
Yea.....i wrote a for next loop to show sprites, but it says sprites dont exist.....hmm...

There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 00:17
My most recent source code:



There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 00:30
Hoss,

I start looking at it at 2:30pm today U.S. EST
Time Hack: 10:38 a.m (right now)

Work sucks

~Zen


Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 05:22
look at it yet? I have been trying all day.

There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
Jimmy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 07:21
Read your book.

----
<Mnemonix> im seroulsiy frunk to doaty
http://www.dbspot.com/ - Free website hosting. Fast and reliable... probably.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 07:58
heh.


* DBP_NETLIB_v1.4.3 - July, 2004 * Click Logo
Hoss
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2004
Location: Someplace with a PC
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 08:33
Jimmy, not everyone knows everything, and this particular problem happens to fall into one of my weaknesses.

There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS.
Jimmy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 10:31 Edited at: 7th Jul 2004 10:32
"DarkBASIC Professional From The Ground Up"

Sorry, by the word "Up" I had assumed you meant past let's say array/variable usage. Heck, even For statements.


WRONG:



RIGHT:



Works with that. Good luck with the rest of the project.

----
<Mnemonix> im seroulsiy frunk to doaty
http://www.dbspot.com/ - Free website hosting. Fast and reliable... probably.
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 7th Jul 2004 13:18 Edited at: 7th Jul 2004 13:29
hmm,

Weird. I provided that section of the code and, I know it had the indecies in it. Hoss, might have accidentally deleted it as he was making changes to it. I believe he knows how to use "for loops" and "arrays", I think it was in the context of displaying and removing the blocks and initializing from data statements. I think?

@hoss, I got a late start on this because I was trying to finish my banner for the mini-comp. I'll look at it tonight, and if need be first thing in the morning. It made it confusing that you posted in the DBpro thread as well, because it looks like phaelex already wrote the checking/display code. I'll have to piece together where you are at this point.

~zen


Here's mine from a few posts above (To initialize the array)...
Quote: "restore blockdata
for x = 0 to 15
for y=0 to 7
read blockdat
grid(x,y) = blockdat
next y
next x"



Here Phaelex made some modifications to dipslay the blocks in the loop, and adjusted the indexes to only display the board/size... in antoher thread.
Quote: "for x = 0 to 9
for y = 0 to 4
if grid(x,y) = 1
sprite id, ox+x*sx, oy+y*sy, img
endif
next y
next x"



Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-22 06:34:47
Your offset time is: 2024-09-22 06:34:47