Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need simple code

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Jul 2004 06:11 Edited at: 9th Jul 2004 06:15
Hey. Thanks for reading. I am just starting out. Me and several others are working to create a Pac Man clone. Basically it will be just like the regular Pac Man we all know and love and all the objects will be made with 3D primitives.

I have just a few questions.

1.) I need some code: I need a code that says IF the user presses the up arrowkey, THEN they will move upwards at a decent speed. Basically I need the code for all 4 arrow keys.

2.) Does anyone know where I can find array collision tutorials or snippets of some sort?

Wow, I can't tell you enough how much I appreciate your support. Thank you in advance for your help.

EDIT: oh sorry, if this helps, it will be controlling a yellow sphere's movement, i dont know how large it will be yet, but think along the lines of Mr. Pac Man, respectively, lol.

Pentium4 3GHZ, 512MB DualChannel RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon 9800XT, SoundBlaster Audigy2, 120 GB HD.
SandraD
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Jul 2004 06:19
On moving around....

In my Nibbles clone I did it the easy way;

if upkey()=1
wayx = 0
wayy = -1
endif
if leftkey()=1
wayx = -1
wayy = 0
endif

And so on. The values of wayx and wayy were added to the character's position on each pass through the main loop, so the image moved in the direction of the arrows. For 3D, you'd do much the same thing though use values for X and Z axis, and adjust the 1/0 to whatever the current move speed is in your game.

I'll let others handle the collision stuff, I'm still learning there too.
S.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.