Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / GeForceFX 5200 - can't install...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I just bought a GeforceFx 5200 to replace my old Geforce2, and I can't seem to get it working. Whenever I place it in and start the computer, the screen stays black and I hear the CD drives turning on and off. I did everything in the manual and still no luck. Does anyone know how to fix this, or where I'm going wrong?
This is my first time updating my graphics card, so I don't have a clue what to do. Please help me, I've only got 2 days of holidays left, then back to school. I want to at least try it once by then.
Ian T
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jul 2004 11:47
Can your motherboard support it? What brand name is it (the mobo)?

Shooting for Eternium Man.
Jimmy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jul 2004 11:47 Edited at: 12th Jul 2004 11:48
First mistake:

Quote: " I just bought a GeforceFx 5200 to replace my old Geforce2"

Second mistake:

Quote: "This is my first time updating my graphics card, so I don't have a clue what to do"

Third mistake:

Quote: "I want to at least try it once by then"

The FX 5200 is one of the worst graphics cards ever made. It doesn't even classify as a budget card, yet people still think it is..

Take it back and get the Radeon 9200, if you know what's good for you

Disclaimer:
The preceding was simply my opinion. The only evidence I've had to prove such is that I bought the 128 MB 5200 to replace my 64 MB Radeon 8500, the Radeon still outperformed it. So please, don't post website articles and other nvidia-biased garbage *cough* Raven *cough*.

Oh and yes, it does sound like a motherboard compatibility issue.

----
<Mnemonix> im seroulsiy frunk to doaty