Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Loading sprite to screen

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all! Im very very new to programming I'v recently purchased "The beginner's guide to DarkBasic programming" book and
I'm using DBPro for the compiler.

I'm on Chapter 11 trying to learn how to load sprites but something not working, when I try to run the program I get a blue screen. Can someone please take a look at the code and tell me what I'm doing wrong? The code is straight out of the book except "filename.bmp"
lol my bitmap size was 300x300

I'd appriciate any help

Thanks Kalk )
Lost in Thought
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jul 2004 15:06
Get image only copys from bitmap 0 or the objects in the screen. So It might be best to load it as an image and use

That book has alot of Dark Basic Classic usages in it. Or so I have heard.

Kalktar
Years of Service
User Offline
Wow! "load image" worked fine!! Thanks a ton
Ok sooo "get image" only grabs from bitmap 0 or objects from the screen ? I cant use "get image" to grab part of a bitmap and put it on screen using "sprite" command?? hmmm, Im a bit confused and have tons of questions, but I've just started to play with all the sprite commands. Guess I'll mess with them a bit and see if I can stay out of trouble. Really got my head going now not sure why/how I'd utilize "get image".

I get the impression the book I'm using may have a bit of misleading information in regaurds to DBPro. Thats ok now I know that may be an issue when I come across problems.

Once again thank you very much!
Kalk
SandraD
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jul 2004 21:39