Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / My first game - help needed

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 06:01
It seems traditional that everyone's first ever game should be a pong game - so I set about my own variant - 'bouncy pong'. I'm quite pleased with the result considering I'm new to this - except for one thing - the movement of the bat is jerky - it seems to get stuck at random intervals!

If anyone has time to look at the code, perhaps you could help me figure out how to prevent this. I tried using sync on before the main loop and sync before the loop command, but this didn't work.

If anyone also has any comments on the general way I've coded the program - ie. could I have done it more efficiently/neatly? Any help gratefully received.

Thanks,

Richard.
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
try putting the sync on command at the beginning of the program and replace your main loop with:

then use and image for the paddle like this:

(change the 600 to the x coordinate of the paddle.)

and change the move_paddle subroutine to:

I would also suggest replacing the opponents paddle with an image as well as the ball and walls.
this will make collision detection much easier as well as movement.
Ric
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 09:56
Thanks - I changed the box and circle for image sprites as you suggested - and it made things work a lot smoother. Strange that though - you'd have thought two simple moving shapes wouldn't have caused much problem (even with sync on it wasn't smooth).