Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Create Space (for a total newb)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Jul 2004 10:25 Edited at: 29th Jul 2004 10:48
Hey all, I am totally new to Darkbasic, I've done programming before but I have very little experience with things like textures. I've searched on this but I can't get a definitive answer. I need to create "outer space" I know this is a common task, I have programs like Universe, POVRay with galaxy include file, and others, all which work well, but I don't understand how to put the bmp files into darkbasic, either to texture and object or a skysphere... anyways once i get the bmp, how do I create space? what exactly are the commands you need? I mean don't just give me the complete code, but I am not sure how top texture a skysphere or anything. anyways, any help would be appreciated. Thanks

I've tried "texture backdrop" and it gives me "command obsolete"
crazy clown
Years of Service
User Offline
On a side note, I also have another problem with the Camera following the spaceship. It is always the correct distance from the object, but when the object rotates (turns right) the camera doesn't move, when it should rotate so the back of the spaceship is always what we (the camera) see. how should I do this?
Ocean Runner
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Jul 2004 12:49
to make a skybox, first make a sphere:

then, to texture it:

1 is the image number. To load an image use:

"Computers in the future may weigh no more then
1.5 tons. - Popular Mechanics, 1949
crazy clown
Years of Service
User Offline