Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help with asteroids movement code

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Jul 2004 16:37 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2004 04:41
I've attached the code that I have a problem with. I am using the balla# method of movement (from the pong tutorial), but it doesnt seem to do anything. However, the ball starts moving when I press up and slows when I let it go but if I press the left or right arrow key then it goes off the bottom of the screen really quickly.

Please help - I'm not very good with DarkBASIC and I probably did the thrust thing wrong but I just tried to figure it out.

Thanks

Am I the only one here who's really confused?
SandraD
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Aug 2004 05:26
Okay, I think you have two different things going on at once here...

The first is the thrust value, which relates to the up and down keys. When you press up the thrust increases, until it reaches 10 when it stops because it's limited. However, when you release the key you are decrementing it again, until it reaches the point of zero when it STILL GOES more negative, but more slowly.

Next we have your left & Right arrows. This is a real mess. Firstly you're Y rotating which I do not understanding, because you're using X & Z for the position. Then you are changing the angle by 5 degrees each time, such that I cannot predict what the result will be (my head don't carry that many decimal points) and then are using that new angle to predict the new location of the object on each pass. Since it is constantly rotating while the thrust value is changing, I'm not surprised you're seeing these results.