Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I can't make the simplist game!

Author
Message
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 02:43
Could anybody give me a REALLY simple tutorial because the other ones aren't simple enough!
Hell Dragonz43
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 03:05
Sure. I'll post it in a sec.
Hell Dragonz43
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 03:16
Tutorial 1: Text

Text 10,10,"This Is Text!"

Try typing that in and compiling it. What happenes? You see a black screen come up and then it goes off. Why does this happen? Because the program isn't looping, it's just running and ending. To make sure your program doesn't end right after it starts, you would have to put the code like this:

Text 10,10,"This Is Text!"
Do
Loop

If you want to have a part of the code that loops, you would put it in between the Do and Loop, like this:

Do
code goes here
Loop

But what does the TEXT command mean?

TEXT x,y,in "" the text you want displayed.

x and y are the positions were you want the text placed on the screen. So now try running this:

Text 10,10,"Hello!"
Do
Loop

Now you should see a black screen with the text "Hello!".

Now for 3D stuff...

Make Camera 1

Make Camera 1 is basicly making a camera to view all the 3D stuff. It goes like this:

Make Camera # of camera goes here

Example:

Make Camera 1
1 = the # of the camera

You can never have two camera with the same number.

I'll post more later like how to start actually making a full game.
Skeletor
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jun 2004
Location: florida
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 04:27
Hi,
My advice is to try and follow this pong game which is really commented for beginners.
http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/?m=codebase_view&i=1a65d2451dda6f68618bcf42dfc601be

Then go to the codebase and look for other games (I put 5 entries under 2d games).

Also I made this 2d Shoot 'Em Up engine for beginners which is also really commented.
http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/?m=codebase_view&i=d11306a419174f49c6622833c6513724

Okay well good luck


http://www.angelfire.com/games5/db_games/
Skeletor
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jun 2004
Location: florida
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 04:38 Edited at: 4th Aug 2004 04:38
Also check out my website or email me if ya need help.
My email is skeletorsks1987@yahoo.com

(My website is on my sig or just click the web button below)


http://www.angelfire.com/games5/db_games/
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 10:04
Thanks. Now I need a REEL simple tutorial for making a short game. And when I say short I mean pretty darn short! Sorry for being so picky. And if anybody needs an idea for a game I got some good ones! And I Don't need them anymore because It's a lOOOng way off before I can make them.
Physics coder
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2004
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 10:17
games aren't short, even simple pong games can be 100 lines or more.

-----------------------------------
To delete the bug, delete the code.
Specs: Sony VAIO Laptop, Windows XP, P4 2.8Ghz, 512MB RAM, ATI Radeon 64MB video memory, DBP Upgrade 5.3.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 10:20
DANGIT I got 3d Gamemaker until I can make Darkbasic games in the demo mode. I'm not much of a moneymaker because I'm a kid. So it might be a while before I get darkbasic.
Skeletor
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jun 2004
Location: florida
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 12:06
Well Im not sure if TGC will get mad at me, but Just purchase Darkbasic off amazon.com for like 20$ instead of buying it here. However I would suggest just getting DBP online because TGC is having a good deal DBP online + DarkMatter online for like 55$. You wont get a manual but the in program help is just as good if not better.

Hope that helps a bit


http://www.angelfire.com/games5/db_games/
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 12:17 Edited at: 4th Aug 2004 12:18
THANKS ALOT! Now I can save alot of money! This REALLY helps! Is Darkbasic for kids too?
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 12:20
Oh yeah! I think Psycics Coder is wrong because the 20 line challenge!
Hell Dragonz43
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 12:54 Edited at: 4th Aug 2004 12:56
Yup. DarkBasic is for kids and adults. I was a kid when i started
o, BTW, never mind my tutoiral. I was really in a rush when i posted it.

Also, do you have any experience with programming (in general)?
Physics coder
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2004
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 13:25
I meant about readable-code, like one command per line, but yeah of course you could make a mini-game with only 20 lines if you put 8 or so commands on each line. But you can say I was wrong if you want.

But a real game like a 1st person shooter or the like will be thousands of lines of code, the game I'm working on right now is over 3800 lines of code, maybe 100 lines or so less if you don't count the comments I put in to make the code more read-able.

-----------------------------------
To delete the bug, delete the code.
Specs: Sony VAIO Laptop, Windows XP, P4 2.8Ghz, 512MB RAM, ATI Radeon 64MB video memory, DBP Upgrade 5.3.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 23:35
No I don't but I was good with computers since I was 2. And I started putting the computer into dos mode when I was 3. But Still... No. And to Physics Coder, yeah, you're right. Yeah, sorry, I wasn't being too clear on what I meant. And another question, do the profesional programmers use darkbasic 1 or pro?
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 4th Aug 2004 23:56
The mail's coming in 1 1/2 hours! I'm probably gonna get my 3d gamemaker today! I'll put the file on one of the posts. Then when I'm better at creating games I can make the same game in Darkbasic! That'll be the day.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 5th Aug 2004 01:34
Sorry for the triple post but... I got it! But I'm still not giving up on Darkbasic.
Physics coder
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2004
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Aug 2004 14:36
Most professional game programmers use C or C++. But if you mean which of the two db languages is better than I'd say Darkbasic Pro is better than Darkbasic 1. The FPSC is being programmed in pro. Pro also has more features and is faster.

-----------------------------------
To delete the bug, delete the code.
Specs: Sony VAIO Laptop, Windows XP, P4 2.8Ghz, 512MB RAM, ATI Radeon 64MB video memory, DBP Upgrade 5.3.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 5th Aug 2004 23:17
Speaking of features, Darkbasic Pro Isn't working when I put in a model. It only works when I put in words, I tried reinstalling it but that doesn't work please help!
Hepy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 01:47 Edited at: 6th Aug 2004 01:47
For 3d models you need to update the screen,



That sounds like what you forgot, cos text is shown when not synced(I fink).
Hepy

Hepy
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 05:03
Sorry. It started working. I had to upgrade it. . Can I please have some more tutorials?
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 09:41
[b]GAMEMAKER 3D SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
kidsa
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: MA,usa
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 09:53
lmao! they should have a trial of it before ppl buy it.

hmmmmmmmm. tommorrow i will post what i know if i have a chance(im goin on vacation)

any language used by me will be dbpro(saves me a lot of typing)
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 10:08
Maybe it's if they do have a trial, nobody will buy it.
kidsa
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: MA,usa
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 10:11
no they do that w/ db and dbp and ppl buy it

any language used by me will be dbpro(saves me a lot of typing)
Aoneweb
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 11:30 Edited at: 6th Aug 2004 11:32
Dude Guy, Go here: http://www.blender3d.com/it has a game engine you may get the hang of,and it's free.
When you want more control of your projects return and get DBpro.
In the meantime, save them pennies.
Good Luck

Toshiba Sattelite, 2GHz,Nvidia GeForce4 420go, Windows XP Home. www.aoneweb.com
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 6th Aug 2004 11:55
Maybe for You Sorry, I'm a dummy!
kidsa
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: MA,usa
Posted: 7th Aug 2004 02:36
says also if you mess up on the coding dont be sad because you just learned what the coding u just put does

any language used by me will be dbpro(saves me a lot of typing)
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 7th Aug 2004 08:21
Okay... All I can remember is,
Do
Print "Hello World"
Loop


The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 7th Aug 2004 11:27
I wish there was A Darkbasic For Dummies That would be nice!
SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 7th Aug 2004 19:36
Well, the first thing would be a "begining Basic" text, since a lot of the style can confuse you. Then when it comes to the graphis that is even worse, but it can be sorted out. Just look over the examples as slowly as you can, and maybe it'll come to you. Read everything on the board, the tutorials and all, and I hope it'll eventually make sense.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 7th Aug 2004 23:25
Sorry, but it's still too much to remember and anyways I'm on the free trial so I don't have any examples.

My email is:andrewtamalunas@yahoo.com

SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 8th Aug 2004 00:46
When I donwloaded the free trial I got examples... perhaps you mean the compo free edition?

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 8th Aug 2004 01:05
When you say examples do you mean tutorials?

Andrew Tamalunas
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 9th Aug 2004 07:11
And everyone remember I use Darkbasic Pro. Since I have kind of complicated game ideas, should I give them to the pros?

Andrew Tamalunas
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 03:18
Okay... Let's get back on track.

Andrew Tamalunas
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 09:13
Could somebody please give me some tutorials for games! My free trial is running out! I only have 17 days left! I was gonna buy the online version with Darkmatter but I was too tempted to get Medal Of Honor Rising Sun. And anyways I didn't have enough money!

Andrew Tamalunas
MR AI
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 09:56
Have u had a look at the tuts in the new comer's corner
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 10:01
Beats me! What are the tuts?

Andrew Tamalunas
MR AI
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 10:06
tuts = tutorials (im lazy)
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 10:21
lol yeah... I found a good one 20 minutes ago. But all it showed me was how to make word stuff.

Andrew Tamalunas
MR AI
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 10:43
what is it that u need to know
like the basic's and when i say that i mean the BASIC's
or wot
General X
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom, London
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 11:59
lol, this thread is turning into jerry springer

dude guy is jokes!

think once play twice sleep third
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 13:05
A basic Pong game. And who the heck is Jerry Springer. Whaddo you mean I'm jokes!

Andrew Tamalunas
Dodo
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2004
Location: eating lunch
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 04:07
The dude guy. don't bother about running out of time on ur trial. when it says u run out just go to activate/register and click activate 30 day trial version and then click next. voila. another 30 days.(i don't know how long this lasts but ive done it 4 times now)
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 05:28
Thanx! But the trial version doesn't come with the manual or all the features

Andrew Tamalunas
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 01:00
Reallly easy Pong tutorial please. And yes I looked at the ones in the forums, too hard.

Andrew Tamalunas
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 08:55
Sorry for triple posting but I made a cheap word thing. You might like it.


Andrew Tamalunas
Hell Dragonz43
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 02:41 Edited at: 18th Aug 2004 02:41
Cool (your example). I'm going to post a step-by-step tutorial in a sec. Don't worry, it takes time to learn programming. Ive had experience with other programming languages, thats the only reason y i picked it up so quick.


www.freewebs.com/mycomputergames
Hell Dragonz43
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 02:56 Edited at: 18th Aug 2004 02:56
Lesson 1: Loops

Do

Loop

What does this mean? Well, anything thats inbetween the Do and the Loop basiclly loops over and over and over and over agian. Basiclly, its like telling the program to keep on doing something.

It looks like you basiclly got the hang of Wait Key and Print. So, lets try combinding the Print with a loop:

Do
Print "This is looped!"
Loop

This basiclly tells the program to keep on printing the text "This is looped!".



Lesson 2: X,Y

If you are in 5th or 6th grade, you may have learned about X,Y,Z. I did a while back when i was in 6th. Anyway, if you never learned about X,Y, then i will teach you about it. X and Y are VERY important in programming. It tells the program where to place things and other important things. It is also used in math. X is basiclly going accross and Y is basiclly going up and down.

[4]
[3] +
[2]
[1][2][3][4][5]

It is basiclly like a cordinite-graph. Do you see where the + is? It is located at 2,3. The first 3 is the X and the next is the Y.

Example:

6,6

If i wanted to place a picture at 6,6, i would be placing it at 6 pixcels away from the top of the screen and 6 pixcels away from the left of the screen.

Before i go on, do u get all this so far? Do you have any questions?


www.freewebs.com/mycomputergames
The dude guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: In the streets of sasatuin
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 08:00
Yeah. I Got it.

Andrew Tamalunas

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-22 23:37:28
Your offset time is: 2024-09-22 23:37:28