Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Concerns with DarkBasic Professional

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi. I'm hoping someone could put my mind at ease about the following concerns;

1) DB Pro seems to be light on error messages and general troubleshooting. Anybody who's deployed professional software knows that a developers worst nightmare is shipping the code to customers and finding out it doesn't run on their hardware and having little information to go by in fixing it.

2) The forum moderators appear to be fond of censorship. As a professional developer, I make my money by using superior tools, not by being ignorant of the competition. If there is a post which compares DB to a competitor, please censor the individuals whom are causing trouble, not shut down a constructive and useful discussion of development tools. In reality, doing this only hurts DB. Leads me into next concern;

3) I've been making a living at developing for 12 years. I know C/C++/Java/C#/VB/Delphi/Perl/Shell scripting/C64 Basic/Asm/etc, but I want to find an environment where I can develop a half-way decent game in 6 months of 10 hour side-job work weeks. Is DB the right tool for this type of job?

4) The demo's that I've seen on this site have nice graphics, but seem to be undeveloped and/or abandoned projects. Perhaps I just don't know where to search, but it would be comforting to know that there have been projects that completed and went on to be something profitable. Does this exist?