Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 2D Sprites in 3D World?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 15:21
Hey people! I finally decided to start working on my first serious DarkBASIC Pro game, "Kyokudai-Seikon", an RPG that has an 3D environment with 2D sprites. One problem, how do I make 2D sprites and actually have them running around the world? (Kinda like Ragnarok Online)

Thanks people!

Pie!
Sir Spaghetti Code
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 16:13
Ouch! I think that Db is either in 2D or 3D mode. Not really seen anything done like this. I have tried putting sprites in a 3D enviroment just to see if it could be done, and I got errors. I am still very new to DB, so I am probably wrong...

"I attribute the quarrelsome nature of the Middle Ages young men entirely to the want of the soothing weed."
-Jerome K. Jerome(1859-1927),Writer
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 22:45
A sprite in a 3D world is simply a plain that always points towards the camera position.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins, source and the Interface library for Visual C++ 6, .NET and now for Dev-C++ http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Dodo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 01:50
hey you could try making very thin 3D models, that would have the same effect. and it would be easier to animate. i think.
Cartmanbeeps
Years of Service
User Offline
hmmm... Ive been wanting to do something like that. But collision would be a pain.
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Aug 2004 04:06