Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Lost in BASIC

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 19:47
Well, I did it, I finally ordered Dark Basic Pro. I've decided after 2.5 years at a near by university that it's finally time for me to actually learn something relevant to my major; programming! I'm being a little sarcastic. Don't get me wrong ----> the core curriculum was interesting but not very challenging to be honest. I am a comp science/applied multimedia undergrad. I live my life in a manner that suits procedural programming. I believe the two go hand in hand and I should prove to do exceptionally well in theory lol.

My main concern is that BASIC is not even taught at Oregon State University. Why? I may be wrong here but I believe it is no comparison to C++. C language is the primary language used in all applications. It's much more complex and intimidating. However, Dark made BASIC very appealing to me. So, I am wondering if it will confuse me to learn BASIC and C++ simultaneously? And in the end will I ultimately lose to someone who has been breathing, living, perhaps even fu**ing C++? I know once I learn BASIC I can apply its concepts to C++ and maybe vice versa. So either way its a well made effort in moving forward. Just curious, what do you think?

Strict 9

"... I'm a tech junkie. You make it, I fu** it!?"
Code Machine
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2004 20:21
Hi,