Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / im stumped :(

Author
Message
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:25
ah i got a prob it says cant close nest line at line 871 i checked to try and see the prob but i cant find it



Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:51
I skimmed the code... You should really indent your code but I found this:

position object 3,0,0,0
gosub player_movement
gosub AI_player
gosub healers
gosub debug_info
gosub rules
`gets distance between player and AI player
distance#=sqrt((object position x(3)-object position x(2))^2+(object position y(3)-object position y(2))^2+(object position z(3)-object position z(2))^2)
sync
loop

Loop with no opening DO


DBP_NETLIB_v1.4.3 - 65 FREE Functions * Click Logo
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:57
thanks cattle rustler

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 11:02
but it stilldont work it says command out of place at line 865 well heres the code.


Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Dot Merix
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 14:17
I believe, if i'm not mistaken(hopefully) that you just forgot.. or have an extra endif, or if statement.

- Merix

Athlon xp 2400+, 512MB Ram, Radeon 9800PRO 128mb
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 18:57 Edited at: 17th Aug 2004 19:40
I went through an indented everything and made some remarks but didn't fix anything as I couldn't really follow it because of certain errors. All remarks I added have `*********************
near them.


[edit] disregard the why is this label here on nexthealplayer and nexthealenemy labels I understand now.

[edit2] Also seems to be a missing endif here


[edit3]
Also I think this

should be keystate(28) instead of 48. and at the first of your program you should put
before your loop to set the default choice to be highlighted when the program starts. Hope this help some its all I can understand of it. There may be even more.

gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 23:53
thank yall both

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 00:20
aww i did what you said to do but it still dont work it says can not close nest line at line 833 here be the code


Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 03:02 Edited at: 18th Aug 2004 03:14
When I get home I will post a compilable code but it will probably not do everything you want it to do as there are parts of your code that make no sense to me.

[edit] I can't tell for sure because you still have no indented your code but did you ever add 2 endifs for these 2 if statements?


gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 04:05
oh no thanks

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 04:07
darnet it dont work sorry for keep asking you


Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 05:47
What error does it give you? I'll try and make more sense out of it when I get home. You really need to try and indent more so you can see missing or misplaced commands. Also put comments to exactly what parts of your code are supposed to do. No need to comment each command but You really can't comment too much when you want someone esle to read it and help you.

gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 06:02
oh a command out of place

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 10:21
Here is the best I can guess at without commenting and indention as to what you want it to do. It does not do a whole lot but it does compile and the enter key selects your choice.

Everythin I did is commented with `*************************
I also moved every subroutine and function outside of the main loop to help unclutter some stuff. I left the labels in as I was unsure if you meant them to be labels or subs looking at them even though you called them with goto they seem to look out of place. I can't make sense out of what you are trying to do. Hope this helps a bit. Probably not though. You may have to go back and comment on what each section is supposed to do.

gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 10:32
ahh thanks man

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 10:36
man it just quits when you click new game though thanks for helping

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 10:50
Make sure you have a file named meter.bmp in the program's directory. It will also crash if you hit enter twice while in new game mode. Like I said I really don't see the big picture here.

gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 10:57
thanks really thanks

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 13:58
Sorry I can't be more help. Just remember to comment and indent. You can move 2 of those endif's and the program can act totally different. That's what makes it hard to read. Most of the missing endifs have only one place they can go but like the endif's that go to the first if statements

Depending on where you want them will make a world of difference. Just go through the program line by line and ask yourself exactly what is it doing and what is it supposed to do. Good luck.

gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 18th Aug 2004 23:27
oh ya thanks man

Dragonseige www.freewebs.com/dragonseige/

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-22 21:36:15
Your offset time is: 2024-09-22 21:36:15