Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Bad post names...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Aug 2004 16:42
I guess this is more of a rant (which is why I put it here), although if any body reads this, I hope it may at least have a minimal impact.

I have noticed on this forum, expecialy in the Newcomer forum, many posts are labeled "Please help me!!". I know this is not just on our forum, but rather almost every forum out there, but it is particularly damaging here. DB is a very difficult program (I know, as I am a noob too), and people are going to have a lot of questions. As we always say, "Use SEARCH first!". The only problem is that when all these people ask questions with a title like "OMG! Need help with code!", no one will ever get any more help from it!

One of the main functions of the Newcomer, DBC, and DBPro forums are to help people with problems. But, the other function is to create a vast archive of questions and answers that can be easily searched. When someone asks a question with a title like that, no one will ever find it and get the answer to there question. So, they will then ask it again, thinking it is a new question.

I know some of the reasons why people do this. I know that people think that people will open and read it just to see what it is abuot, then they will probably provide an answer. I know, because I used to do it too! But, this is a very active forum, and someone will answer your question. And then their answer may be able to answer another person's question down the road. And another. And another. And another. You get the picture.

I know this will not fix the problem, but if this post maybe changes a few post titles, then it was worth the time! Hope this helps!