Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / effects particles or somthing

Author
Message
steve c
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jan 2004
Location: united kingdom
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 06:00
umm well ime not sure what there called but u can place particles or whatever in certain places to make blood or fire and other stuff and i was wondering how because ive got a particle maker that saves them as an avi i think and i wanted to put like a flame thing come out of my gun and i was wondering how pls help

current projects
codename : tasgarad and discworld mysteries
life in the city watch
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 06:11
MAKING YOUR OWN PARTICLES:

DBPro, yes.
Normal DirectX programming (HARD HARD HARD non-DB), yes.
DarkBasic using built-in commands... no.

Try sprites with black=transparent or something. For the sprites further back, you could easily make them smaller.

In a snowy scene, you could probably have the landscape ready-coloured white or whatever, with little dots of snow falling down along with whopping great huge (okay, medium-small) sprites representing snowflakes.

[img src=http://blanky.pt-web.net/ddd.gif] >::p
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 06:22
YOUR SPECIFIC CASE:

An avi file is an animation. Probably you could create a bitmap the right size and have the avi play to that. Also, before every sync command have the set current bitmap & get image commands allowing you to have the fire animation/whatever in an image. Then, whenever you need to use, put a plain object wherever you need the file, activate the black=transparency option and show the plain object with the image being textured onto the plain. (You need to update the texture just before every sync using texture object). When gunfire/whatever is done, hide the plain. (For CPU reasons, you should probably only be using texture object & get image (and for that matter, have the animation playing) when some fire is actually being SHOWN. Otherwise, it's an unnecessary waste of CPU power!)

Sample code included. (I will make it so the code actually works tomorrow).

[img src=http://blanky.pt-web.net/ddd.gif] >::p

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-24 23:26:09
Your offset time is: 2025-05-24 23:26:09