Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Please review my code.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Sep 2004 05:38
Hello All!

My name is Jim and I'm new to DB and DB Pro. I just ordered the boxed set of DBPro yesterday and I'm using the evaluation version until it comes in the mail.

Anyway...

Whenever I'm new to a language I write a simple little program to put it through the riggers. It's always the same type of program. That is, a program that will bounce a random number of sprites all over the screen in random directions.

I keep increasing the number of sprites in order to see how smoothly the program will run.

Here's a link to my code: http://www.Pishlo.Net/dbpro/Mine.zip

Or you can view it here:

I've actually got the program running pretty smoothly with 500 sprites on my laptop (Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz ATI something or other video chip).

In fact, the equivalent program for Blitz Plus and Blitz 3D don't run as fast as it does on DBPro.

I was wondering if there was anyway I can optimize the code any further to make it even smoother. (Aside from using a particle emitter).

Thanks in advance.
-Jim
Dot Merix
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Sep 2004 13:29
That's really quite neat..

I'm not exactly sure what you meant by smoother, do you mean smoother movement, more optimized code?

As far as i can tell from looking at the code it looks pretty well done

Good job and welcome to the community.

- Merix
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Sep 2004 02:22
Yeah, it looks perfectly fine, there are a couple of little optimisations you can make, but they probably won't make much of a difference, but...