Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / New Forum Features Needed!

Author
Message
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 03:12
Please can we have (in order of importance)

- Ability to Edit Topics

- Ability to upload files

other updates:

- After posting, topic should go to the last post
- In the thread list for a forum, the page numbers should be displayed so people can go straight to the last page


I know you are busy Rich but I (and the other forum members) would be very greatful. Especially about editing posts.
NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.
Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 03:58
Abilty to edit topics
Good idea, then we can correct any errors these forum bugs create, especaily in the code snippets.

Ability to upload files
Hmmm, the problem there is, if everyone started uploading their files it would take a huge amount of space, granted you can give a file a lifespan of a few days or weeks before it's deleted. Also for their own security, Rich and co. would have to check every newly uploaded file for any nasty things attached.

Programming anything is an art, and you can't rush art.
Unless your name is Bob Ross, then you can do it in thirty minutes.
Megaman X
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 04:17
Non IE-Browsers compatible...

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it!"
-- Rogue
Skyone
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 08:58
Those buttons on the post page dont work, and i have IE

Code of the Week: Moving an object back.
If Downkey()=1 then Move object x,-10
x=Object Number
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 09:26
o_O thats odd... yeh an edit button would be nice.. but uploading files isnt... we dont want the db server getting cluttered...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 15:33
ya know this is a wonder, and just a wonder that the php is actually using .Net Script rather than JavaScript - i mean i could be wrong but the current bugs would seem to suggest towards this.

This would also explain the IE only compatibilty and why certain IEs are incapable to access this because the .Net Framework update for Win9x|ME|NT is almost 200Mb

would like to see an edit and page numbering|jump buttons myself - as for uploading, doesn't really bother me a great deal ... perhaps there should be with DB-Mail an upload box allocated, say of 10Mb each so you can upload files for here within your account box and pay for extra space, because it does cost quite a bit for the space and bandwith per month (^_^) - server being on a seperate server of course to prevent the actual forum slowing just uploading and downloading - thats what i had for my lycos account until they disabled the hotlinking for anything cept images

Av sizes increased to 64x64 atleast (preferably 80x80) and not forced to be a square

Font tags, i miss my purple bold text (well was navy, so perhaps adding a purple just for me )

hyperlink name adding, so we can like go Whatever - like most other forums would also allow us to add in the image tags within that too so we can have piccy links which is always fun

preview of a post would be good if we can't have an edit, will mean we can check if something will work and what it reads like before posting

a current members popup so we can check who's online, what status they have - Mod|Admin|DB Team|RGT Team|User|Newbie|Guru

well i think thats about all for now ... please note just suggestions not making any bitch or anything.
Oh and if it is .Net that is being used, you wanna check over a basic messenger that uses an online checker and then does a peer2peer connection for messaging ... uses a modified version of the Messenger API because it was prone to crashing from the server and peers.

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 15:34
oki ignore the url thing last time i tried that it didn't work.. but as it does now, hehee cool

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 16:39
I keep getting 'msgbody is null' for the href/mail etc buttons, which is an annoying Java problem that I would like sorted...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Jeffro
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: London, mostly....
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 16:43
A Search function would be nice......

It's never as easy as it looks!
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:01
"php is actually using .Net Script rather than JavaScript"

PHP is a language in itself, very akin to JavaScript. It is not like CGIs which can be written using several languages or ASP for that matter.

Yes, Rich needs to get this site working under Non-IE browsers. A search button is needed as well.

NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:09
I thought the button code was Javascript - well, well...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:16
hehee DS has obviously never used php ... (^_^)

php is a language of its own in the same fashion that VRML is

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:25
Meesa want learnz php too . I agree with Vegeta about the Avatars, but hope won't get so slow as it's in RGT I will still stick with a better broswer support as the RGT short cuts ( Alt+p to post and things like that ). Totally Netscape compatible

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it!"
-- Rogue
Martyn Pittuck
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:36
IT IS A JAVA SCRIPT FOR THE BUTTONS

Soz, PHP is server side and can have no affect on how the webpage is shown/executed in the browser. Whats here is meant to be here unless the developer did not want it here.

Well, i will ask Rich if he needs some quick (and netscape ready) java for the buttons. But i doubt it...

The Outside is a evil place to be, too much light, too much noise and too many distractions....
I went outside once and my FPS rate dropped to 5.
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 17:36
RGT wasn't developed inhouse and the creators have had almost 3years experience developing|updating them
and certainly isn't the first forum template that guy went with

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 22:31
RGT wasn't developed inhouse and the creators have had almost 3years experience developing|updating them
and certainly isn't the first forum template that guy went with


nope i can remember many test forums ^_^...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Drazo
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2002
Location: In the Shadows
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 22:37
And when is this 'db-mail' gona work?

Join FWMB @ aimoo
I'm one BIG nasty lizard.
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 22:39
O_O when he gets some time i think...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Drazo
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2002
Location: In the Shadows
Posted: 1st Jan 2003 23:25
Oh! And another feature which will be useful - a choice to ingnore posts.
example:
If Darth Shader is offending me I can 'ignore' him which it finds all of his/her posts and hides them (to me) so I don't have to see his/her posts.

(This idea came from another message board)

Join FWMB @ aimoo
I'm one BIG nasty lizard.
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 01:19
yeh ive seen those... ^_^ you guys wouldnt hide my posts would ya... im a chuckle fest...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 04:35
Of course not...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 08:24
oh that hurts mr.t... right where my heart should be...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 00:42
"hehee DS has obviously never used php"

No, I used to use it on my old website. But never, in any of the tutorials on PHP I have read, has the possibility of using different languages in PHP scripts been mentioned. With ASP, it is often mentioned that JavaScript or VBScript can be used, but all PHP scripts are the same.

I'll take your word for it

NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 00:44
^_^ i will too... i havent done much php... mostly cgi/perl/javascript...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 04:22
Dont worry Puffy, I wont ignore your posts...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 05:13
thank god... my wisdom is here for all ^_^... (or whatever you call that thing o_O...)

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 05:27
I bow before your knowledge...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 05:42
=\ well theres one fallower... even though i am using a bit of his code...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 05:52
...I would bow, but I'm on a pedestal...

I wish I would get feedback on my other routines - your the only one who informs me of bugs...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 06:52
o_O i help everyone out... ^_^ and everyone loves me...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 07:05
Oh yes... I hear Raven as a picture of you on his bedroom ceiling...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Puffy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Jan 2003 07:56
i know i shouldnt have posted that...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-03 14:00:08
Your offset time is: 2024-03-03 14:00:08