Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Digital Video Camcorders

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2004 06:04
I'm not new to the world of digital cameras, but i am new to the world of digital camcorders. DV tapes, memory sticks, resolutions, capture lengths, output formats, and other mumbo-jumbo are killing my brain cells. I'm just looking for a hand out. I'll be needing it to take fairly clear coloured and high resolution videos which i want to later transfer to the computer for editing. Which output format is best for editing-MPEG or DV format? What is DV format? Is it like AVI? Can anyone reccomend a really good DV Camera for a £400 budget? Basiclly, i need a 5 second DV Cameras for beginers course. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Dave

PS: Decent Audio is a must have.

Your soul...it tastes like chicken

Official Website Postponed Indefinately
DivW
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2004 07:11
Hmm...is my Avatar working? I can only see the image if i follow the link directly...

-Dave

Your soul...it tastes like chicken

Official Website Postponed Indefinately
Dodo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Sep 2004 05:58
@Camera - Google it

@Avatar - err, no link or image try again Dave

Thanks to Ilya for the Logo!
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Sep 2004 08:14 Edited at: 24th Sep 2004 08:17
I put all my Digital Camcorder stuff onto PC. Here's a few pointers:

1. Most "home use" cameras are pretty much the same standard of image. The price difference usually comes from the lens quality, zoom range (real zoom, not digital zoom), and features.