Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / My future in programing

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Sep 2004 09:10
I was wondering if anyone could help me with some choices that I need to make. This year I'll be graduating from High School. I'm not supposed to graduate till next year, but why wait? I got just enough credits. I've been coding for about four or five years now, and I don't ever plan on stopping. I started out programing on the Ti-83 plus graphing caculator, and I made some really advanced games for it too. I then tried to learn C++, but It was too confusing at the time, I'll try it again someday. Then I learned alot in Visual Basic, but it wasn't what I wanted, I wanted to make video games. I made some basic games in VB like connect four, tic tac toe, pong. They all had an AI system and were two player compatible. I went to the store a found Dark Basic sitting there on a self, the cover was real nice, so I bought it not knowing that Db Pro was avaible for $40 more or so. I like it a lot and have been programing in it for over a year now. I made tons of Fps games, arcade style games and so forth. I was working on a Fps Creator project not to long ago, it was great until in read the newsletters and found out that their was already a Fps Creator in progress, I was very upset! My project let you create a 3d level from a 2d grid and then you inputed all your stats, fog effects, and then added your media. I stopped the project because its kinda worthless now.

My first question is should I try to get into the game making field?
My worry is that with all the new programs out like 3d gamemaker, fps creator, and stuff, will programing manually become outdated?