Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
rockabillypete
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 14:08
Hi again
starting to get somewhere now
how do i know what fonts i can use and can i just use the ones in windows.
music is life
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 16:37
READ THE BLODDY COMMANDS BEFORE SPAMMING THE BOARD WITH SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!

There is a command to do this- I just wish people would read the command list instead of depending on us so much.

RPG

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
http://www.halbrosproductions.netfirms.com
Dont ask those questions! Read the help files lazy!
xtom
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 23:34
You can use any fonts that are installed in your windows\fonts directory. If you planning on distributing your program just remember that not everyone may have the font you use. So you can use a common one or have the font installed when you release your program. It won't cause a crash but it won't look right either. To find out what fonts you have do something like the following to check them out.

rem dodgy program that displays font names on screen
perform checklist for fonts

a=1
gosub printfonts

do

text 0,0,"Total font qty="+str$(checklist quantity())+" Press space to view font names."

if spacekey()=1 and keypressdelay=0
keypressdelay=1
cls
gosub printfonts
endif

if scancode()<1 then keypressdelay=0

loop

printfonts:
set cursor 0,20
for font=a to a+19
if font<checklist quantity() then print font;")";checklist string$(font)
next font
inc a,10
if font>checklist quantity() then a=1
return
xtom
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 23:38
Oh bugger, put a <= to instead of a < in this line

if font<checklist quantity() then print font;")";checklist string$(font)
jasuk70
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2002
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 02:00
I must admit the most used font commands by me so far are:



And



Due to the first being fixed width and always available and the second being a more pleasent font but also always being available.

Jas
C++ Boy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 04:50
Wow RPGamer...got a little rage, do we? j/k We all have our moments

QuothTheRaven
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 06:27
You don't boy, you just got here.

You can use all the fonts in C:\Windows\Fonts
Go there. If you have it, you can use it. Others may not have it though, so they may not always see what you see.
C++ Boy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 07:10
See the thing is, I didn't just get here. I signed up today under a different Email address...i've been here a good while. I could be anyone

eightfoot514
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 07:16
"Blake Thompson" the name in my profile = alias
eightfoot514
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 07:16
to see if anyone notices...how longs it gonna take

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-13 17:08:45
Your offset time is: 2024-04-13 17:08:45