Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Can a bitmap be selected by mouse?

Author
Message
Col
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 14:42
Hello all. Would greatly appreciate some help with the following concern:
Still very green at this, and have just worked out how to select areas of the screen using co-ordinates. Is it possible to select a specific bmp image regardless of its shape or position on screen ie when I click on it with the mouse?
Also can anyone recommend good freeware programmes for creating media files such as 3d models and animatred sprites.

Thanks in advance
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 16:35
You would have to get into co-ordinates with the mouse- and if mouseclick (here) the SET CURRENT BITMAP whatever.

Free stuff:
Models:
Wings 3d (www.wings3d.com)
Anim8or (www.anim8or.com

Id pay the 20 for milkshape (www.milkshape3d.com)

For 2d? I dunno. If you have MS paint I guess youll have to use that. Id suggest buying Paintshop or Photoshop.

RPGamer

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
http://www.halbrosproductions.netfirms.com
Dont ask those questions! Read the help files lazy!
David T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 18:05
What you might want to do is have 1 sprite which is your image, then one 1x1 pixel image as your mouse sprite which is always positioned at your mouse.

Then use sprite collision(sprite number,mouse sprite number) to determine whether the mouse is over the sprite.


Merry Christmas to all Apollo members!
Visit [url]www.lightning-systems.co.uk[/url] :: [url]www.realgametools.net/forums[/url]
C++ Boy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 21:42
nice

Col
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2003 03:41
Thanks, this worked for me.
I am now well on the way to creating a graphical menu system.
Cheers

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-13 18:25:23
Your offset time is: 2024-04-13 18:25:23