Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Total newbie wondering about controlling objects

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I've been simply messing with getting objects to move when you use the arrow keys, but ran into a problem. When I attempt to get my cube to rotate while I hold the right key it rotates once when I first press the button but then stops. How come it only rotates in the direction I want it to once and then it stops no matter if I let off of the key and press it again or not?

Just wondering because I figured controlling things would be one of the first things I'd need to know to make a side scrolling game.

Thanks

Neeeeeeeewom!
Xander
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2004 03:35
I would like to help you, but I need to see your code. Are you using a loop? This will make the program go through the commands infinitely. This is how programs usually work. Here is an example that will rotate a cube when the keys are pressed:

Xander Moser - Bolt Software - Firewall
Lost in Thought
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2004 03:36
Are you doing something like

or

Chris64
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2004 13:23
It sounds like you may need to be using the WRAPVALUE() command for your angle. If you exceed 360 it may not know how to handle it.

rotate object 1,0,0,wrapvalue(x#)
Indie Rock 13
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2004 14:23 Edited at: 21st Oct 2004 14:39
Thank you, that works. Now my only problem is that I want it to rotate right and move right, but when it does this it also goes downward in a circle, where I just want it to stay on the x axis and spin while moving...