Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I am brand new to Darkbasic, I need oto know some things. Please Help...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, I'm brand new, I don't even have my darkBASIC program yet. but, does that 700 page tutorial book they sell on the site help at all, or is it more expensive than its worth. if it is? how can i learn the language? just online? Please Help Me, thanks in advance

Welcome to Hypocrite In A Box, May I change your order?
SAnTA
Years of Service
User Offline
Personally i havent seen the book so i cant comment on it but i have found darkbasic very easy to pick up, perhaps because i used to mess about with amos as a kid.

The help files that come with dark basic are great lots and lots of examples. If you look around the site you will see lots of tutorials, theirs several pinned at the top of the new comers forum. Also look at the code from the code base, if you dont understand what a command is used for look it up in the help file. It will give you a good understanding if you put time and effort into it. Should you get stuck Dark basic has a fantastic bunch of people on these forums that are always willing to help with problems.

If you look the book up on amazon.com theirs a few reviews and a little excerpt from the book... Looking at the table of contents it certainy seems to cover everything you will need to undertand to be able to create your own stuff.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1592000096/qid=1100142917/sr=8-3/ref=pd_csp_3/102-4067598-9118562?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

then click the cover

And remember if you do buy the book and you dont like it well.... theirs always ebay
Chris K
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Nov 2004 23:25