Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
viscera eyes
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location: the moon
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 16:05
i know that i already have about 2 older posts asking the same question but so far nobody has answered it. how do you create sliding collision WITHOUT nuclear glory. like i said in another post, i cant get nuclear glory to run on my computer (for some stupid reason) so i want to try it using just DBP. i dont want to do anything complicated, just something like a box sliding along another box.
Ali M Oldboy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2004
Location: England, UK
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 16:18
Ok, cool,

Then just use the collision code from DBP


Nukesoft :: Explosive Games :: If your 555, then I'm 666! Whats it like to be a heretic?!
spooky
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 23:21
Use arrow keys:



and here's a very old bit of code that shows you how to do sliding
stuff in a FPS environment.



Be warned though that sliding collision on rotated boxes in DBPro does not work very well, so game will have to be very boxlike.

Boo!
viscera eyes
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location: the moon
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 04:07
thanks but i have another question. when your creating collision boxes, what is the x1,y1,z1,x2,y2,z2 stuff used for?
Dom
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 04:35
Dont use collision boxes just use SET OBJECT COLLISION TO BOXES Obj ID

DRAGONFIRE STUDIOS
Lead Programmer
(The Studio being my front room)
TEH_CODERER
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2003
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 04:39
But then you can't use 'get object collision x()' etc.

Realms Of Tutopia: Rise Of Evil
http://www.freewebs.com/elbsoftware/index.htm
spooky
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 04:42
You are basically telling the command two coordinates in 3D space that are the opposite corners of a box that are the collision boundaries of the object 'inside' it.

So, in first snippet:

make object box 2,100,10,10 : color object 2,rgb(0,0,255)
make object collision box 2,-50,-5,-5,50,5,5,0
position object 2,0,0,50

This first makes the visible object, a blue box that is 100 units wide, 10 units high and 10 units deep. Now objects are created at 0,0,0 . So the box is actually between -50,-5,-5 to 50,5,5. The collision box is then made to be same size. After you create a collision box it will move automatically with any objects that you subsequently move.

Boo!
spooky
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 04:44
To do sliding collision you have to use collision boxes. If you simply want to detect if one object collides with another then you will get away with automatic collision.

Boo!
viscera eyes
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location: the moon
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 05:21
thanks spooky
viscera eyes
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location: the moon
Posted: 23rd Dec 2004 05:12
i have another question. how would you make someting jump?
spooky
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 23rd Dec 2004 05:41
Stand behind them and pop a balloon.

Boo!
viscera eyes
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location: the moon
Posted: 23rd Dec 2004 10:37
haha

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-23 07:37:48
Your offset time is: 2024-09-23 07:37:48