Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / noob, but big dreams

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Dec 2004 18:53
Hi, i'm new to DB but have some programming experience with VB, C, Java. I'm not a programmer by profession, just like doing it as a hobbie.

I'm looking to create a RPG, purely for personal enjoyment and as a chance to learn what DB can do. I know this is a massive first time project for someone new to the language but i'm not worried how long it takes and i learn a langauage better when i'm doing something i'm into.

Just looking for other Noob's to share their experience of learning DB and for those of you out there who are experts to give me a few pointers as to the best places to get info from.

I've written a number of text based RPG's in the past and done a small amount of 3d stuff (very very small).

My idea is for a basic D&D type game, any helpful hints, tips would be great.

thanks
demons breath
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Dec 2004 21:10 Edited at: 26th Dec 2004 21:10
even if you have had experience with more complicated programming languages you should probably try to learn the commands with something simpler than an rpg, but if your mind's set on it, there is a team in this forum trying to make an rpg which you could join.

also, the monster hunt tutorial is easily understandable and is adaptable for all of the movement code and so on, so check that out (http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?f=t01/3d_tutorial_index)

Are you using DBC or DBP?

Am I the only one here who's really confused?
Cian Rice
Years of Service
User Offline
Look at the RPG Snippet Thread, there is some RPG code there.