Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Texturing bug

Author
Message
dbcoder2006
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 5th Jan 2005 07:58
I've encountered another bug...

When ever you load a 3ds model and texture it, the screen will remain black until the termination of the program.

Perhaps it's just me, but someone test it out...

My test was:
Erick G
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 5th Jan 2005 14:43 Edited at: 5th Jan 2005 14:46
Why the wait key ? I am sure that is the root of your prob, as it is waiting ( black screen ), then when it terminates, it renders and ends.
dbcoder2006
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2005 08:02 Edited at: 6th Jan 2005 08:02
It works w/ the waitkey when I don't texture it.

and the wait is at the end, not the beginning of the code, so it would render, pause, then terminate
zao420
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 6th Jan 2005 11:05
you should call dbsync(); befor the wait.that should make it show. haven't tested since i am about ready for bed and didn't want to load up vc++

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
dbcoder2006
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2005 11:44
Tested, and didn't work...

If I don't texture the object, it works just fine... when I do texture the object, no go.
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 7th Jan 2005 00:01
The problem is probably due to the fact that your using a 3DS file... Anyway, can you make the model and texture availiable.

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Jimmy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 7th Jan 2005 02:29 Edited at: 7th Jan 2005 02:30
Have you tried dbLoadImage() instead of dbLoadBitmap()?


I am a George Foreman hair crimper
Dark Intruder
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2005 05:41
hey don't you have to have the loop at the end... simillar to

remove the waitKey();


In Order To Understand Recursion One Must First Understand Recursion
Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 7th Jan 2005 11:50
I believe Jimmy may be correct though I do not have Dark Game SDK and possibly Squidgy The Brick too.

zao420
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2005 08:21 Edited at: 8th Jan 2005 08:22
i haven't tested a 3ds file, i don't have one right now but i guess i could export one. but isn't the texture all ready aplied to it, when it was exported?

if you could post you 3ds file and texture i could test it out.

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
zao420
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2005 08:28
Well i was thinking about this i though of something to try. and i am sure the loadbitmap only works with bitmaps. anyways you will see if the object disapears when you hit a key to texture it.

void DarkSDK(void)
{
dbLoadObject("chaingun.3ds",1);
// dbLoadBitmap("gun.jpg",1); doesn't this only work with bitmaps.??
dbLoadImage ( "gun.jpg",1 );
dbSync();
dbWaitKey();
dbTextureObject(1,1);
dbWaitKey();
}

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
dbcoder2006
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2005 11:30
Any ideas? I NEED textures w/ my 3ds models. Like I need BSP

Now I have a sound bug...

I can't play a 3d sound more than once....

dbPlaySound(1);
dbSleep(1000);
dbPlaySound(1);
dbSleep(1000);

The sound plays only once
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 10th Jan 2005 16:07
Quote: " I NEED textures w/ my 3ds models"

And I need both the textures and 3DS models to test.

As for your sound problem - have you tried stopping it before trying to restart it ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Andrew123
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2005 20:14
Does the following work?
Andrew123
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2005 20:54
Oops, source code didnt get attached

OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 04:34
No sign of the graphic...

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 16:13:32
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 16:13:32