Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / side view?

Author
Message
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 04:16
what im trying to do is tomake a matrice and have 2 object that face each other and the camera to be stationary to their side how od i do this? im using 3d objects
Mr Pointless
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Oct 2004
Location: Stuck in the UK
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 04:31
Do you know any of the commands?

"I shall avenge your death!"
"Er, I'm not dead!"
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 05:00
i was kinda hoping for a snipet
Mr Pointless
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Oct 2004
Location: Stuck in the UK
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 05:15
I really wasn't hoping for that...

OK, here's some rough code, should work in either DB. It'll obvoiusly need tweaking as I don't know exactly how you want everything. It looks like you want to make a fighting game, so if you're loading existing models then you'll need to know more.

I suggest you try looking up some of these commands in the manual, but if you're none the wiser, just scream.

Look for the source button in the corner of this post.

My name is NOT for your amusement!
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 07:31
no not a fight game just makling a simple rpg battle code like final fantasy but its jsut messing around its not gonna be a project but thanks for the code
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 22:20
set display mode 640,480,16

sync on
sync rate 30

make matrix 1,100,100,10,10
make object cone 1,10
position object 1,50,0,20
LOAD OBJECT "L-Alien Rollerbug-Idle.x",2
position object 2,50,0,80

load object "L-Alien Rollerbug-Attack1.x",3
position object 2,50,0,80
hide object 3

position camera 0,10,50
yrotate camera 90

do
IF 1=spacekey()
show object 3
play object 3
HIT1=RND(6)
IF HIT1 <4
PRINT "miss"
ENDIF
IF HIT1 >3
print "hit"
ENDIF
hide object 3
ENDIF
sync
loop


there is the code that i have the problem is that the model is small and i cant rely see it allso i dont think that its playing the attack frames
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Jan 2005 03:29
SOME HELP PLEASE
Mr Pointless
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Oct 2004
Location: Stuck in the UK
Posted: 17th Jan 2005 03:59
Patience, young Skywalker. I can't be connected to the net all the time.

Try adding this after the "load object" commands:

scale object Object Number,XSize,YSize,ZSize

All sizes should be equal and I think they need to be percentages so to make your model bigger by half try 1.5 (150% original size) for each size.

Do you understand any of these commands yet?

My name is NOT for your amusement!
Baggers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Yonder over dem dere hills
Posted: 17th Jan 2005 06:46
Big Irv, just a quick complain but has to be said before you annoy someone,
This is not an instant messenger... Most people have lots of other things to do e.g. work, exams, college... if you havnt been answered in a few days then feel free to ask again, but bumping every few hours will just get people agitated.
Sorry for complaining its just too easy to give yourself a bad name like that.
Good luck with your projects, also read some tutorials !
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2005 10:54
yea i know i was being impatient and u had a right to complain
Big Irv
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2005 11:03
as for the bsp compiler tool that comes with db pro where do the compiled bsp maps go cause i dont htink its working.. is it best jsut to use .x instead of bsp?
Mr Pointless
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Oct 2004
Location: Stuck in the UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 04:24
I cocked up a little. The "scale object" sizes... I should have said 150, not 1.5.

My fault. I don't normally use this much, that's my excuse.

BSP compiler? Are you on about the Cartography Shop demo?

Try going into C:\Program Files\Dark Basic Software\Dark Basic Professional and do a Windows Search for *.bsp anyway.



My name is NOT for your amusement!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-23 09:27:51
Your offset time is: 2024-09-23 09:27:51