Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Web Hosted/Deployed Game Options

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 00:53
I am new to DB Pro and am currently trying to get my head around available game deployment options.

My terminology may not be 100% acurate, so I'll outline what I mean/am looking to know.

From my understanding, a game created with DB Pro will typically be compiled/made available as a exe file. .exe files and any supporting game files are then installed on a local PC.

My question is this. Is there a way of deploying a DB Pro game exclusively as a web hosted game? (so that a user would not have to download the .exe file, etc.. but click on a link which just ran a web deployed version of a game). I guess I would loosly compare the deployment type I require against shockwave games hosted on http://www.shockwave.com where the game runs within a pre-downloaded framework (although this is probably not the best of comparisons, hope that it gets across what I am trying to achieve with a DB Pro solution).

I have searched across the forums and most threads which touch on this area seem to ultimately end up referencing the Multiplayer Tutorial, which while a very useful document, seems to cover packet exchange/hosting rather than full web deployment of a game (and is effectively a client install of the .exe, etc..).

Really appreciate any pointers on this area,

Thanks
Qweeg
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 16:57 Edited at: 28th Jan 2005 07:52