Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Shooting problem

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jan 2005 06:21
Hi,
Im still new at this and I was wondering if someone could show me
how to make a gun and make it possible to shoot. Could someone
please help?

please.......
Foxy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jan 2005 16:37
Well, I'll have a shot.

First things first, you need a gun model. There is a very simple gun model attatched to this post in a zip file. The image file in the zip file with it is there to keep the gun a constant grey colour, sorry but I didn't texture it.

So you have your gun model, now it needs to be loaded into your program. This is the code to do such a thing:

That will load the object and it will further be referred to as object 1.

As with any program you'll need some initial setup lines as below:

The first line will turn manual screen refreshing on, the second line will cap the frames per second rate to 50 and the third line will hide the mouse cursor. The do...loop commands are the heart of the program, these stop the system from running through all of the commands once and then end the program. All of the things you want to happen in-game should between these lines. Finally, the sync command simply updates the screen with anything that should be displayed.

Now that you have the main structure set up you need to add some commands that do something. This is where the "load object" command comes in. Because this is a command that is part of the before game setup it should go before do...loop statements, so you should have: