Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / My First Game!!! Adventure Game.

Author
Message
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 5th Feb 2005 04:00
I have decided that it would be good to make a adventure game as my first game. This would included a character which walks around a landscape doing missions and quests. However I thought this was a bit to complexed for my first game, so i thought it would be a good idea to start by making the character walk around a landscape and them see what happen if i get that far. I have read the DB manual and one of the 'task for you do'(or what ever its called)is to make a 3D character walk around a matrix. I have no idea how to achieve this and was wondering if somebody could help explain how i would go about doing it or if somebody could help me through the first few steps.

I am a total newbie, well i've done the pong tut and looked at the monster hunt and limit rush tuts. I have also little(but some) experience of modeling and making landscapes so i will probably be using the DB media and a randomised matrix(if that helps).

I'm am also usind DB.
Thanks for your time
Jozers
Foxy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2005
Location: The Dale, South Australia
Posted: 5th Feb 2005 10:33
Here is some simple code I wrote up just now:



That will make a matrix and let you move a sphere around on it. Study it and play around with the different parameters for the commands and see where it takes you.

Just stick to it and you'll get it easily enough.

If I were you and you were me, then you'd be yourself 'cos you are me and I am you.
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 5th Feb 2005 19:16
Thanks Durdge39 I have managed to get the character from the tutorial to walk around a randomized matrix. But i don't really want to use that model, if you just change the name of the model in the LOAD OBJECT "idle.x",1 will this change the model over and will it work or do i need to change some of the parameters.

Here is what I have done so far.


Thanks again
Jozers
Foxy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2005
Location: The Dale, South Australia
Posted: 5th Feb 2005 20:36
Thats looking good. Along with changing the filename make sure that you have the object in the same folder as your source code. The thing with having a different object is you will have to change all of the frame parameters and such for the animation commands or they will not function properly and you will have a jumbled mess on your hands.

Cheers

If I were you and you were me, then you'd be yourself 'cos you are me and I am you.
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 5th Feb 2005 23:59
what parameters will i need to change and what will I need to change them to.
Foxy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2005
Location: The Dale, South Australia
Posted: 6th Feb 2005 10:14
The parameters that you will need to change will be the ones below:

append object - start frame (2nd parameter)
loop object - starts and end frame (2nd and 3rd parameter respectively)
set object speed - speed value (2nd parameter - this is personal taste)
set object frame - frame number (2nd parameter)

What you need to set these to depends on your object, I can't tell you this because I am unable to do 3d animating or use the tools to do so. If you post your object in the 3d discussion board someone will probably be able to help you. If I've missed anything let me know.

If I were you and you were me, then you'd be yourself 'cos you are me and I am you.
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 18:13
i have managed to change the model in the game by just fiddling around with the parameters but i what to make the character attack when i press spacebar

im not sure how to do this could someone please have a look at my code and tell me how i should do it



thanks
jozers
Doom
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 19:19
see this is where i get confused... where do you load the character and show a animation?

--director of BRUNCO STARTS academy/School of tech
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 13th Feb 2005 00:19
i have now manged to make the character attack when you press spacebar but to be honest its not really a game yet so i am going to try to and stop the character going outside of the matrix. I thought i could do this by putting boxs around the matrix, hiding them then using some sliding collision or something. Is there a better way of doing this that will save time.

I'm then going to get or make a model of a dragon and then get it to try and kill the man and you(the man) have to kill the dragon.
IF anyone has any animated models of dragons they would be very handy.

Oh, Here is my Code(DBC)
Jozers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2004
Location: If I knew I would tell you!!
Posted: 15th Feb 2005 16:58
I have looked at the monster hunt tut but i can't get the goblin(it was going to be dragon but i don't have an animated model and i'm pants at modelling) to come after the character and then try and kill him. Could somebody help me with the AI i will have another go at it today and also look in the code snippets but if someone explained it to me i would know what i was doing.

Thanks
Jozers

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-27 22:43:34
Your offset time is: 2024-11-27 22:43:34