Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 2D RPG Game Help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2005 01:12
I am new to the DarkBASIC programming language. I use the DarkBASIC Professional language. I wanted to know if anyone could help me with a project that a few friends and I are working on. We are designing a 2D RPG. We are aiming to make it similar to FFIII. I have read the Beginner's Guide to DarkBASIC Game Programming, but it seems to leave out many concepts that are required to make a RPG. I do not understand how to code things like the overworld and battles. If anyone could provide any advaice or help, it would be very greatly appreciated. Thank you.
The Nerd
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2005 05:04 Edited at: 9th Feb 2005 05:04
Well i have an advice for you.
Before you start making a game like an RPG maybe it would be good to take it slow and learn some basic things about RPG`s first.

Then after that you can take what you have learned and use it to make an RPG

Just an advice.
I wish you good luck

Regards

The Nerd

looking for Royalty free 3D objects?
then Check PanzerGames at this link : http://www.freewebs.com/panzergames
The Game Programmer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2005 05:48
And also, as a fellow newb who's seen many a newbs burned to deaths by flaming, I suggest you start a lot smaller than a RPG, they're the kindof things that even advanced people can barely comprehend. Although there seem to be many DB gods on these forums.