Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / How do you make a game that creates .exe files?

Author
Message
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 01:02
I am right now creating a game creator in DarkBasic Professional, and I was wondering, how do you create an exe from your program. If anyone could help, that would be great!!!

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
GothOtaku
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2003
Location: Amherst, MA, USA
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 13:37
Since you're asking this question I'm going to assume (possibly incorrectly) that you're fairly new to programming. To make an exe you need to have a compiler (this is what DBPro is). This translates your source code from ASCII into machine code. So 'GOTO 10' translates into ,say, '11100000000000000001010' (a number in memory corresponding to a command and data) which the CPU can execute. Writing one of these is hard especially for someone who's more of a beginner. What I'd recommend instead is to try to make a small interpreter instead and then make a encoder/decoder for the source so it can be hidden from other people.
Tifu
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 19:24
If he's new to programming, it may not be anything that complex that he's wanting to know... but rather just how to compile the game so that other people can play it?

If that's the case and you're using DBpro, the compiled game is created when you run the game (F5 I think?) the exe will be created in whatever folder the source code was in, and happyness follows.

Zappo
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2004
Location: In the post
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 20:29
If you did mean 'write a program in DarkBasic Pro which can compile other progams' then the simple answer is 'no'.
An alternative method which is much easier is to create a separate DarkBasic program which is just a 'runtime only' version of your game engine. It would work like this:
1) Use your own game creator to make a game. Save this game in whatever method you choose (it could be your own scripting language, or a series of maps or whatever)
2) If you want others to play the game but don't want to give away your game creator, just supply the 'runtime only' version of your game engine along with your saved game.
3) When they run the 'runtime only' version of the game it will load the saved game and let them play.

This way they can only play the game and not edit it. The 'runtime only' version should be much smaller too as it will not have to contain all the editor stuff. Just an idea.
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 17th Feb 2005 05:52
First, I am not a beginner. I do not want to know how to compile my games. All that I want to know is how to make an application that will make an executable file for a person!

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
Tifu
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 17th Feb 2005 06:41
Well in that case refer to GothOtakus post

JeBuS
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2004
Location: Undisclosed Location, Dominion of JeBuS
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 01:09
Quote: "All that I want to know is how to make an application that will make an executable file for a person!"


You make it sound like it's a simple thing to do. It's not. Google compiler tutorials or some such to see how much more complicated it is than you believe.


High quality models and graphics, low prices. Graphics for the rest of us.
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 00:20
What is the URL to these tutorials?

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 00:26
it starts with www.google.com

Neofish
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2004
Location: A swimming pool of coke
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 01:35
If the user owns dbp then you can use that as the compiler

:: AphoticVM oGL Plugin : 0% Complete ::
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 01:50
Mgamer12:
You do not need to make a compiler to do what you're trying to. First, make a base executable. This is the actual game, and will use a configuration file or a script to change its looks/behaviour. Your game creator will change stuff in the script file, and will package that in the EXE. Not very hard, but its a decent amount of work.
If you don't want to make a base EXE, you have two options:
1) Actually make a compiler (which I don't recomend for you)
2) Use a ready scripting engine like WarBasic (all you have to do is export a test.uai file, and send it with the EXE) </ad>

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 03:29
Ahh, Interpreter-compiling, i.e., cheating.

No, it works well enough, but you lose a bit of performance and if you call it a compiler I'll say you're cheating. P|

Mr Blanky - This Time, It's Personal
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 03:47
WarBasic isn't really interpreting. It uses dynamic compilation. Something like a JITer. Really think it is feasable for him to write his own compiler, Mr Blanky?

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
SageTech
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 05:21
here's the compiler code right here!



i wouldnt recomend writing a compiler in DarkBASIC, Most compilers arnt written in languages, but made in assembler language (kind of like machine code, but with english words and stuff)

Sage Tech Manager
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 11:51
Dude thats sick, do you know what that says?

ionstream
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2004
Location: Overweb
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 11:57 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2005 11:58
add EAX, 42...

Actually, does anyone know of the x86 instruction binary specification?

Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 11:58
yep thats sick, You sicken me...

Neil19533
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2003
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 12:04
it says


Any spelling mistakes are totally In tensional.
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 16:21
One must wonder what these 'produced' executables would do.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
David T
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 17:12
1) Echo out ASM to a file

2) Run thatASM through an assembler

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 00:28
And where do I compile this code?

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
Jimmy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 01:49
in your butt


Well we all shine on, like the moon, and the stars, and the sun.
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 02:13
Thanks a lot Jimmy! I just wanted to know how to compile that machine code or assembly code, which ever someone REALY knows how to do. Keep your wise mouth shut next time.

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 02:34
Don't be like that.


"Lets migrate like bricks" - Me
Jimmy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 02:44
Homey don't play dat


Well we all shine on, like the moon, and the stars, and the sun.
David T
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 03:48
Run ASM through an assembler and you get compiled code out the end.

Gods knows how assemblers work

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 04:00
Run ASM through your butt and you get... erm.... god knows what out the other end...

God knows how your butt works, right?

Mr Blanky - This Time, It's Personal
Hawkeye
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2003
Location: SC, USA
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 04:08
Well in theory, yes... but who knows. Maybe you should try eating it instead, that way you're not running in reverse.

SageTech
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 08:36 Edited at: 23rd Feb 2005 08:38
this code is the best there is, are you acusing me of faking machine code!?

and the code will produce tons of pr0n

Sage Tech Manager
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 01:45
Where can I find the best deal on an assembler?

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 01:53
Free. Get NASM.

Mr Blanky - This Time, It's Personal
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 02:39
And where do I get NASM

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 02:47
Use Google!

Mr Blanky - This Time, It's Personal
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 02:49
Okay.

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
SageTech
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 04:46
you know, you could also program in c i guess, it does have low level qualities with high level coding..

Sage Tech Manager
Kentaree
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Clonmel, Ireland
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 05:08
Your best bet would indeed be to write an interpreter, because if you're going to write a compiler, you're going to want to learn ASM and x86 opcodes, which isn't all that much fun

Desktop: AMD Athlon XP2800+,Radeon 9800 128MB, 1.25GB DDR RAM
Laptop: AMD Athlon 64M 3000+,Mobility Radeon 9700 128MB, 512MB DDR RAM
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 08:34
Or he could take the easy way out and use a scripting system, like Python. Writing a VM/compiler just for this is silly. I've made my own and I know that the amount of work that will have to go into this is really not worth the trouble.
Mgamer, use a scripting system someone else made. Writing a compiler is way more than what you need.

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
PowerSoft
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Feb 2005 15:50
someone mention a scripting engine? i saw a really good one being developed, check it out:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=41577&b=8


Regards,
Rich

Powersoft Scripting Language under redevelopment!
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 26th Feb 2005 18:11
Quote: "i saw a really good one being developed"

tsk tsk, shameless aren't you? You forgot to close the </ad> tags.

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2005 02:48
A scripting system will not creat a compiler though. Is their any pre-made compilers out their that are open source?

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 27th Feb 2005 04:24
You don't need a compiler. That's overkill. Do you think RPG Maker has a compiler in it? Or FPSC? If what you want to make is something along those lines, then a scripting system is all you need.
Still, if you want to go through all that code, I guess you can look at Nasm and GCC. Both of are opensource, both WILL give you a headache.

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2005 07:17
DTKF15H,

Dose FPSC create executable files, or does it just run off a runtime?

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past
PowerSoft
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Feb 2005 00:14
most likely interperated.

@TK: sorry

@Mgamer12: seriously though my <ad> scripting engine is actually getting quite good, it has variable support and expression parsing to come. it is also open source for now and for the forseeable future. Check it out </ad>

@TK:That better?


Regards,
Rich

Powersoft Scripting Language under redevelopment!
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 28th Feb 2005 10:29
Much better. <ad> But it's no where near as good as the DBP plugin I'm making using WarBasic code. It allready has support for variables, arrays, expressions, IF-THEN-ELSE-ENDIF, DO-LOOP, Functions, and can execute DBP-like commands (MoveObject, AddLimb, Print, etc.) thanks to IanM's interface. </ad>

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
PowerSoft
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Feb 2005 20:53
<ad> mines 100% native DBP code! </ad>

Powersoft Scripting Language under redevelopment!
adr
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2003
Location: Job Centre
Posted: 28th Feb 2005 21:11 Edited at: 28th Feb 2005 21:17
To the original poster:

Please understand that the reason people are giving you a hard time is because it's horribly clear that you don't know where to start when it comes to writing a compiler. Now, that's not to say you should not learn - be my guest. However, if you're not prepared to carry out the tiniest bit of research (i.e. use google to find out how to write a compiler) then people are not going to spoon feed you. If you'd have posted a question like "I'm having trouble with my symbol table" then people would've been interested and would have contributed. However, "how do I write a compiler" gets the same level of courteous attention that your planning did.

book is death - wife is stupid
TKF15H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posted: 1st Mar 2005 00:30
Quote: " <ad> mines 100% native DBP code! </ad>"

I fail to see how that's a good thing. A scripting engine in DBP will force you to recompile the entire engine plus whatever game code you use every time you press F5. Besides, <ad> WarBasic is 100% C++, faster, and fits in nicely in the plugins-user folder. </ad>

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
Mx5 kris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2005 00:35
<ad>poop basic is a shell, and will be done in 20000000000000000000000003453398455555557</ad>

PowerSoft
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Mar 2005 00:59

We still friends...

Powersoft Scripting Language under redevelopment!
Advancement Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2005 04:33
adr,

I am not getting a hard time. I just wanted to know and they are giving advice.

POWERSOFT,

I checked out your scripting engine. It is pretty good. I do not have the latest version though. I will have to check it out.

Coming to www.mworks4me.bravehost.com:
Warlords of Earth: Shadows of the Past

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-13 20:01:59
Your offset time is: 2024-11-13 20:01:59