Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Thinking about getting DBPro...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I'm thinking about getting DarkbasicPro. I've been using Basic in some
form or another (QBasic, VisualBasic, VB.net) for years to create little
utilities, so I have some experience with programming.

My questions are:

#1. How easy is it to develop games with DB? For instance, how easy is it
to develop a game like "Dig Dug"? How easy is it to create a game like
Mortal Kombat? How about Half-Life?

#2. What texture resolutions are supported? I'd love to be able to have
really high resolution textures in my games.

#3. Does DB have built-in physics? And if not, are external plugins (like
Newton) available for free?

#4. How often is DBPro updated? Is the community active?

Anything else I should know?

Thanks in advance!
Mr Pointless
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Feb 2005 03:47
What I can answer:

#1: It ain't too easy, but still, easier than C++, I bet. And don't expect to create the next Half-Life as soon as you pop the CD in your drive. As with all things, learning takes time.

#2: It depends on your graphics card, I think, but regardless, texture sizes to the power of 2 are supported (32 x 32, 64 x 64, that sort of thing), but you can use any size image for 2D work.

#3: Sorry, you'll have to code your own, and external plugins can either be Freeware or you'll have to fork out for them. Look on the DBPro homepage for DLLs

#4: It looks as if DBPro's updated when it can be, I don't think it's a regular thing. As for the community, just look around these forums.

(If I got anything wrong, please tell me.)

Iwata: "YOU'RE NOT HIM! YOU'RE NOT SUMIYOSHI! EEEEYAAAAAA!"