Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Moving Waves

Author
Message
The Game Programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sitting, and waiting, and staring, and..
Posted: 21st Feb 2005 03:51 Edited at: 21st Feb 2005 03:53
So I'm making my sidescroller shooter, so of course I want have waves of enemies coming at you, the player. But there are a couple of problems...
1. The screen is black with no errors so I can't exactly judge how things are going.

2. When I did have a screen at one point, the waves never came, it was just the one ship that I already have...

So... I'm including all my code and media in a zip file.

Well, I'm trying aren't I.....

When Life gives you lemons make orange juice. Then sit back and wonder how it was done.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
The Game Programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sitting, and waiting, and staring, and..
Posted: 22nd Feb 2005 09:30
*bump* Still haven't figured it out.

Well, I'm trying aren't I.....

When Life gives you lemons make orange juice. Then sit back and wonder how it was done.
The Game Programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sitting, and waiting, and staring, and..
Posted: 24th Feb 2005 22:07
Bump.... Again...

Well, I'm trying aren't I.....

When Life gives you lemons make orange juice. Then sit back and wonder how it was done.
Major Payn
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2003
Location: United States of America
Posted: 25th Feb 2005 06:56
Are you using the 3D or 2D, if you are using 3D, just use a for-next loop to define the objects you want to move, and then tell them to point toward the player (point object command) and then move them using the move object command.

Guns arn't the problem, people are the problem, shoot all the people and guns arn't a problem anymore.
Monsieur Mort
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th Feb 2005 07:32


correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems to me that in the code segment above you've gone a bit mad... what's $wave1? assuming it's a string variable, why isn't it wave1$, and why isn't it mentioned anywhere else I can see in the program? Similarly, waht's $wave(a)? And assuming it's a string array, why isn't it wave$(a), and where is it dimmed?

Why do you sink I ave zees outRAGEOUS accente?!
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 25th Feb 2005 10:24
Mort, DB(Pro and at least classic enhanced) lets you tack the data type symbols on the front.

But yeah...$wave(a) isn't declared anywhere, and $wave1 isn't initialized prior to that.

I remmed out the for loop and ran it through dbc. It didn't seem to move after loading the three ships and background. I couldn't even get it to print the fps at the top of the screen.

Crazy Donut Productions
Current Project: A Redneck game
The Game Programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sitting, and waiting, and staring, and..
Posted: 26th Feb 2005 00:26
Payn: I'm using 2d.

Mort: I'm using Pro so it is ok, it is true that $wave(a) is not defined, but the first thing I need to do is get the screen to not be black so I can see what I need to fix.

Well, I'm trying aren't I.....

When Life gives you lemons make orange juice. Then sit back and wonder how it was done.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-11 23:44:05
Your offset time is: 2024-11-11 23:44:05