Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / .X Files and Conversion for Dummies

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2005 10:32
The .X File and Conversion for Dummies Tutorial

By RUCCUS of The Game Creators

This tutorial will give all of the newcommers here the down-lo on .X files and what to do when you need to implement them into you're game. Bare in mind that I myself am quite a large noob, erm, newcommer I mean, and I dont at all think I'm a pro at doing anything in DB yet. This is just to help those that may need it.
This tutorial requires the use of a program called Deep Exploration, an excellent program that can convert many file extensions. It isnt free but isn't expensive either. Click the link in the forum post above this, the one that lists where recommended programs are (I forget what the forum post is called but it's stickied).

Part 1: What the hell is a .x file?

What's a .x file? ".x" is simply the extension for a DirectX file. DirectX files are the main type of files supported by DarkBasic and are essential in 3D Game creation (unless you intend to use a bunch of boxes, which could still make a very good game). DirectX files can store all the information of a 3D object, it's coordinates, it's textures, it's animations, it's size, and lots more.

Part 2: How do you save a 3D File as a .X File?