Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Using input over 3d....

Author
Message
Epidemicz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Jan 2003 06:31
I have been working a bit of code for my program for a while now, and I've got all the bugs worked out except one.

What my code basically does, is when you hit "i" it brings up a small on-screen menu. I use the input command to get the name of a certain .x object name and another input command to get an object number.

My menu will toggle on and off now, but when it hits the input command everything else on screen (that is 2d such as my menu and other text) will disappear and I can only see what I am typing in the input, I can't even see the question that it asks.

Anyone have any suggestions on how I can stop Input from destroying all my other 2d effects on screen lol?

Thanks again in advance.
I am the very disease you pretend to be.
CarlTaylor
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 29th Jan 2003 08:32
if you gave the source code it would help...

baseball = life
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 29th Jan 2003 10:14
if u cant work around it maybe u could blank the whole screen with an image and its centered around the input area.

Epidemicz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Jan 2003 23:32
This isn't the code for my game, but this does the same thing. When you hit 'i', all 3d stops and 2d disappears...



I am the very disease you pretend to be.
xmen
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 30th Jan 2003 02:09
`...........Try this hope it help......

`............xmen....................


rem Standard Setup Code

sync on : sync rate 60
color backdrop rgb(0,0,128) : hide mouse
set text font "arial" : set text size 12 : set text transparent

make object cube 1,10

do

yrotate object 1,wrapvalue(object angle y(1)) + 2.0

text 0,0,"This is example text, what what happens when you type 'i'. This is go away and 3d will stop ."

if inkey$()="i" then gosub input

set cursor 0,10
print name$

sync

loop
input:

backdrop off

input "Please input your name >> ",name$
backdrop on
return
Epidemicz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 30th Jan 2003 03:52
Hey, thanks for helping xmen. In that little program it works. With my game, I have a skybox and lots of bitmaps on the screen. So, it still doesn't work on my actual game.


Any other suggestions?

I am the very disease you pretend to be.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-19 02:32:06
Your offset time is: 2024-09-19 02:32:06