Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / BSP or Matrix for that one? And... what the hell is a .pk3?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hallo,

so now I am finally starting my first 3D-projekt.
After years of programming in 2D, I want to create my first 3D-game.
Since I am an absolute beginner with Dark Basic , I hope you can give me the help I need to get started.
(I am unable to idendify the verion number- help/about sais DB professional,copyright 2002)
My problem is CREATING THE WORLD.

REQUIREMENTS:
Since what I am going to do is something liek a racing-game, I need to create *HUGE* worlds with lot of 3d-details like bridges and traffic-lights. ALso, I need "trigger"-zones. In example, a traffic light switching to red when you are just in front of it.

SO MY QUESTION IS:
How can that be realised with Dark Basic?

1) WORLDCRAFT
Basicly I want to do it with Worldcraft (Valve Hammer Editor), but I don´t manage to load my .bsp in DB.
The "load bsp" - command requires a pk3 and a bsp file, doesn't it?
So what the heck is pk3 and how do I get my Worldcraft to create them?
And when I manage to load it (like with the example in dhe DB-Help), how do I get the coordinates to set a camera-position?

2) MATRICES
I know most of you guys are using those matrices. Now I wonder if Worlds like described can be created with this system.
Or are there any other ways? Can those .x-files be used to achive that aim? As far as I know now, they can't.

3) MY PREFERENCE:
What I would like to do is the following:
Creating the scene like a sattelite-photo (streets and so on in 2d) via photoshop as a 5000x5000 Jpg,